Sex and the City - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sex and the City Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 3, 2008
I'm just not that into it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 6, 2008
... a gay camp parody of the way fabulous heterosexual women court affection
Full Review | Original Score: 76/100
May 29, 2008
I am not the person to review this movie. Perhaps you will enjoy a review from someone who disqualifies himself at the outset, doesn't much like most of the characters and is bored by their bubble-brained conversations.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 28, 2008
For those who do not consider themselves to be among the Sex and the City faithful, this is a painful experience, perhaps the longest 148 minutes likely to be spent in a movie theater this year. Watching grass grow is more dramatically satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 29, 2008
King fails to grasp what he once understood: When times are hard, you don't cry poverty. You step on the gas and give the audience a show.
May 30, 2008
It's just that there's been an altitude adjustment -- fewer stilettos, more flats. Ask what women want of a chick flick and one answer may be this -- a pleasant reunion with cherished friends. Ask what women deserve and the answer is better.
June 3, 2008
Shock hit me several times while watching the movie, and never in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 30, 2008
The big screen isn't the ideal environment for the show.
Read More | Original Score: B-
May 30, 2008
Writer/director Michael Patrick King's first attempt to slip into full-length features from television wears heavily, resulting in as poor a fit as Carrie sporting coveralls and clogs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
February 1, 2009
The movie Sex and the City is a heady female fantasy -- I think. I tried to snuggle up to Sex and the City, but the attempt to snuggle for two hours and 20 minutes is in itself a fantasy. Like many typical men, I'm afraid I fell asleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
June 2, 2008
Why get the band back together if you're not going to add some new songs to the greatest hits?
May 29, 2008
Sex, even when it's not great, is still good.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 12, 2008
Sex and the City is not a painful experience for men (or even guys), just a predictable one...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 1, 2008
An estrogen-fueled salute to the virtues of excess, if that's your Gucci bag.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 29, 2008
I know this was made for the fans, but geez, was there no attempt to make it a good film?
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 6, 2008
I love Sarah Jessica Parker...Carrie and Mr. Big are definitely the best things about this film. But, at 2.5 hours long, there's just not enough good stuff to put this one over the top. I hate the sound of Kim Cattrall speaking, so that didn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/5
September 8, 2008
I went in rooting for SATC with everything I had, and it left me a bit disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
June 7, 2008
The pacing barely ever breaks out of a light plod. And the writing is very, very average.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 2, 2008
I will be up front about this. The movie was not made for me, so I found it pretty insignificant. But it's also quite painless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 7, 2008
Here is an unashamed celebration of materialist values, an orgy of labels, brands and product placements as sinful, by implication, as the behaviour of the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 9