Sex and the City - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sex and the City Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Gina Carbone
Seacoast Newspapers (NH/Maine)
June 3, 2008
I'm just not that into it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
June 6, 2008
... a gay camp parody of the way fabulous heterosexual women court affection
Full Review | Original Score: 76/100
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 29, 2008
I am not the person to review this movie. Perhaps you will enjoy a review from someone who disqualifies himself at the outset, doesn't much like most of the characters and is bored by their bubble-brained conversations.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
May 28, 2008
For those who do not consider themselves to be among the Sex and the City faithful, this is a painful experience, perhaps the longest 148 minutes likely to be spent in a movie theater this year. Watching grass grow is more dramatically satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
May 29, 2008
King fails to grasp what he once understood: When times are hard, you don't cry poverty. You step on the gas and give the audience a show.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 30, 2008
It's just that there's been an altitude adjustment -- fewer stilettos, more flats. Ask what women want of a chick flick and one answer may be this -- a pleasant reunion with cherished friends. Ask what women deserve and the answer is better.
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
June 3, 2008
Shock hit me several times while watching the movie, and never in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
May 30, 2008
The big screen isn't the ideal environment for the show.
| Original Score: B-
May 30, 2008
Writer/director Michael Patrick King's first attempt to slip into full-length features from television wears heavily, resulting in as poor a fit as Carrie sporting coveralls and clogs.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 1, 2009
The movie Sex and the City is a heady female fantasy -- I think. I tried to snuggle up to Sex and the City, but the attempt to snuggle for two hours and 20 minutes is in itself a fantasy. Like many typical men, I'm afraid I fell asleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
June 2, 2008
Why get the band back together if you're not going to add some new songs to the greatest hits?
Matt Stevens
E! Online
May 29, 2008
Sex, even when it's not great, is still good.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
June 12, 2008
Sex and the City is not a painful experience for men (or even guys), just a predictable one...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
June 1, 2008
An estrogen-fueled salute to the virtues of excess, if that's your Gucci bag.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
May 29, 2008
I know this was made for the fans, but geez, was there no attempt to make it a good film?
Full Review | Original Score: C
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
June 6, 2008
I love Sarah Jessica Parker...Carrie and Mr. Big are definitely the best things about this film. But, at 2.5 hours long, there's just not enough good stuff to put this one over the top. I hate the sound of Kim Cattrall speaking, so that didn't help.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.25/5
Heather Huntington
ReelzChannel.com
September 8, 2008
I went in rooting for SATC with everything I had, and it left me a bit disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
June 7, 2008
The pacing barely ever breaks out of a light plod. And the writing is very, very average.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
June 2, 2008
I will be up front about this. The movie was not made for me, so I found it pretty insignificant. But it's also quite painless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Evan Williams
The Australian
June 7, 2008
Here is an unashamed celebration of materialist values, an orgy of labels, brands and product placements as sinful, by implication, as the behaviour of the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 9