Sex and the Single Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sex and the Single Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 4
April 7, 2016
Quite a fun movie with many stars. Natalie Wood is really beautiful. Tony Curtis is a scandal magazine writer and want to write on research psychologist Natalie. She off course hate the magazine and the idea. Henry Fonda sell stockings and occasional flirt. Lauren Bacall is his wife. Tony make use of the neighbor Henry marital situation to see Natalie for marital counseling. Tony try to seduce her after few meetings and use suicide to lure her out. When they both fell to the river, they head back to her home. Been a little tipsy, Natalie confess she like him. But Tony lies soon reveal the plot hole and Natalie decide to end this by making sure Tony's marriage will be rectify. So she ask Lauren to her office. But Tony ask his girlfriend to pretend as his wife which she refuse as she need to attend a casting. So he ask his secretary to go. Tony girlfriend turn up in the end and together there's 3 "wives" of same name to see Natalie. Lauren is piss and report police of Henry multiple marriage. It's only when Natalie go to Lauren's home and saw the photo of Henry does she know Tony identity as the writer. She decide to go Fiji with Mel Ferrer another flirty guy who likes her. Henry already has plan to go Hawaii with Tony's girlfriend. So the crazy and funny car chase follows. Eventually everyone got together with who they like happily and leave the country.
½ June 5, 2015
Sex and the Single Girl is a decent film. It is about a womanizing reporter for a sleazy tabloid magazine who impersonates his neighbor to get an expose on renowned psychologist Helen Gurley Brown. Tony Curtis and Natalie Wood give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Richard Quine did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the humor and romance.
April 16, 2015
A silly 60s film, but so fun to watch. Although that era produced a lot of fluff, i find myself really enjoying the campy Hollywood material.
November 28, 2014
***Due to the recent RT changes that have basically ruined my past reviews, I am mostly only giving a rating rather than a full review.***
½ March 23, 2014
Just crazy mishaps between destined lovers and a married couple one culminating in a crazy car chase. I did laugh out loud a couple times, especially the jack Lemmon references. Wood was gorgeous but over acted, while Fonda and Bacall quietly stole the show.
½ March 11, 2014
This movie was unimaginative and a waste of talented actors. However, it is worth seeing because of the presence of Fran Jeffries, truly one of the most beautiful and sexy actresses who ever graced the screen. The preposterous ending has Tony Curtis preferring Natalie Wood to Fran Jeffries. Please.
½ March 11, 2014
Comic farce about dating and intelligence. Lotsa great supporting cast!
February 17, 2014
A very campy & perfect example of 1960's filmmaking, both Natalie Wood & Tony Curtis where at the top of game & fame by this film.

A little bit silly & quite confusing in parts, Natalie Wood was truly an incredible talent that not only could act but was funny & I argue one of the screen's most beautiful stars.

This film had a few laughs but was not really that engaging & my interest dropped off fairly quickly. It's good but nothing great...
½ July 4, 2013
A really weird way to make a movie about the book. Its kinda fun though with the best tollbooth gag you will ever see.
June 1, 2013
Wonderful, silly, fun 60's-screwball comedy. It's not going to win any Pulitzer prizes, but that's not what it sets out to do. It's lighthearted, endearing, innocent and funny. And whether you're male or female, it's not hard to look at, with two gorgeous leads. Another reviewer criticized the under-use or mis-use of Lauren Bacall's talents, but in fact, she is perfect in the role, and looks like she is just plain having fun - she's allowed to, isn't she? Great film for when the world gets all too serious and complicated - like a comic book for the brain.
½ February 6, 2013
An enjoyable movie that isn't great but will do to pass the time. The pairing of Curtis and Wood is in my opinion a mistake. For me, Curtis is far from being a lovable leading man, but having not been around during the period he was popular in, I am hardly knowledgeable in this area.

The script is fun and light, plenty of humour throughout (particularly the car chase to the airport that somehow ends up with everyone eating pretzels) and it offers an insight into a particular way of thinking concerning sex during the 60s. Interesting film that loses steam towards the end but is worth checking out if you enjoy romantic comedies.
½ January 27, 2013
watched it too many times to count
½ September 29, 2012
even though it gets a little too goofy, "Sex and the Single Girl" is one of the best comedies i've ever seen.
½ September 26, 2012
Slightly amusing, but it never really charms. There are some clever lines for Tony Curtis. But if the film is supposed to be sexually revolutionary it merely comes off as sleazy.
August 14, 2012
I Love Love Love This Movie!!! An Oldie But Such A Goodie!! <3
June 25, 2012
A guilty pleasure. Said to be Henry Fonda's least favorite of all his films because it was silly. More likely because Natalie Wood calls him ugly.
June 24, 2012
Starts off as standard 1960s opposites attract fluff(despite wasting Bacall and Fonda). But the last car "chase" at the end is torture (felt like 15 minutes, was probably 5).
November 23, 2011
Perfect Movie!!!! No buts at all!!!
November 17, 2011
One of my very favorite movies with Natalie Wood. One of the pluses are scenes SFO, 60's style!
½ October 24, 2011
A 60's era romantic comedy, with little to no seriousness to it, starring Tony Curtis, Henry Fonda, and Natalie Wood. A young pHD female psychologist gets pursued and scammed by a tabloid-magazine writer who is looking for a juicy dirt-story to publish about her, however he finds himself in love with this pretty psychologist and a lot of misunderstandings ensue. Check this one out if you like goofy old romantic comedies.
Page 1 of 4