Sex: The Annabel Chong Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sex: The Annabel Chong Story Reviews

Page 2 of 6
May 7, 2010
Most viewers may be tempted to attribute her behaviour to a gang rape she endured in London in 1992 ... Yet no one in the documentary, including Quek, connects the two experiences in the film. Full Review
May 5, 2010
Aņadir un comentario ...
May 5, 2010
Tambahkan tinjauan ...
April 16, 2010
Disturbing and exploitative - the film-makers had an agenda to push, and pushed it with no ethics at all, playing manipulative games with who does and doesn't know she's a porn star (her mother conveniently finds out while the film crew is there), while standing by doing nothing as she cuts herself. Not to mention trying to read deeper meanings and statements into things that simply aren't there. Could have been an educational and uplifting documentary, but the opportunity was wasted, the judgemental tone of the film disgusted me.
March 24, 2010
can i fuck you naw

please sa yes
February 24, 2010
This was an amazing tale of a gal, her vagina, and 300 dudes. Not since The Godfather has a film existed of such a caliber. Performances by Ron Jeremy and Seymore Butts deserved Oscar nods. It was Super Size Me, An Inconvenient Truth and Bowling for Columbine all rolled into one with lots of penis.
½ January 23, 2010
a look into a deeply disturbed woman and a depraved industry (or at least an industry with a depraved faction). interesting and appalling...
Super Reviewer
November 13, 2009
Sex-The Annabel Chong Story is a voyeuristic look at a very damaged woman. Chong set out to have sex with 300 men in one day. She had to stop at 251. A few months later, her record was beaten. This is a very depressing film, as it shows a confused woman, whom believes her actions are that of a feminist, being exploited at every turn. Both herself and the industry is to blame. Chong is no saint, but the film fails to try and comprehend it's subject. It mentions Chong being gang raped, but doesn't explore this avenue of interest. Surely this had something to do with an intelligent, conservative woman trying to bang 300 men. The only people you feel sorry for are Chong's relatives. Like all good documentary filmmakers, Lewis doesn't interfere with his subject, sitting back as she cuts herself on camera. Unfortunately, he doesn't explore the right areas either.
½ October 13, 2009
The porn industry should do psychological exams before they let women like Annabel (Grace) act in films... damaged person tries to justify mass gang bang as empowerment and is messed up? Really never saw that coming. This could have been interesting in documenting her, but instead it just made me want to help her get therapy- same for whomever decided to film her CUTTING HERSELF. Also, very staged at times. Blegh.
September 14, 2009
A documentary that's reasonably interesting but quite frustrating as well. Maybe it's a bit outdated already- I mean, would the fact that a successful, academically inclined woman chooses to star in porn (*GASP*) be reason enough to make a movie nowadays? The film is nearly as undramatic as one can ever imagine, even though Chong does seem to have a melodramatic and seemingly self destuctive side to her. Still, in the end she is a very common character who doesn't offer much of that social pornography this flick seems to be after. But in just that comonness she becomes a person who's life feels worth following for a while.
September 5, 2009
A look at an idiot who somehow justified her work as a porn star (gang bang specialist) as feminist research. It tells of her gang-rape experience, but doesnt think that motivated the then virgin to get into this line of work. It also shows her cutting herself when she was upset. The best part was when she told her mom what she does for a living. Ugly girl, both inside and out.
½ August 13, 2009
This movie was horrible. I fell I am pretty open minded but this was discusting. Not just the sex but because Annabel is one of those angry bisexual feministe chicks who pretend to be super intelligent but make dumb comments like, I am willing to risk getting Aids to do this. She was so annoying I had to turn it off. The best part of the movie was Ron Jeremy.
July 7, 2009
poor annabel chong ROFL
½ June 28, 2009
The story is Fascinating and sad. Not a Ken Burns film.
May 24, 2009
Add a review (optional)...
May 19, 2009
ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
½ April 25, 2009
Very good film that takes an extremely sharp turn. A documentary that goes from lightheartedly profiling a witty, articulate porn star with a second half that turns into a tragic look at how the greedy beings inhabiting the porn industry exploited her fragile ego and mercilessly left her in the dirt with nothing left but her unknowing family who disowns her. The film takes a pretty objective stance and doesn't make any judgment on its subject. Speaking of which, Annabel Chong is a very likable woman. Her feminist rationale for performing doesn't make a lick of sense to me, but again, the filmmakers make you the judge, which I liked. See it.
April 18, 2009
hiiii
sex
I LOVE YOU SEX
½ April 16, 2009
After viewing this and reading the reviews of this documentary, I was surprised at the level of criticism it garnered; the criticism was as incoherent as Quek's explanation for her actions. Here we have a film that does not necessarily come off as coherent or insightful...not because it is made poorly, but because it doesn't make anything more of Quek than she is; a very lost, desperate woman trying to justify actions that confuse, disturb and anger all those around her. The choice to not drive a point home with the film, but rather to introduce all the pieces and have viewers do it themselves is extremely effective. Quek's constant rambling throughout the film does nothing to establish her credibility as having anything substantive to say; rather, her exhibitionism allows the documentary crew, and thus viewers, to draw our own conclusions. This is a truly provocative work, minor aesthetic flaws aside.
April 12, 2009
The most depressing film I've seen this year.
Page 2 of 6