Shall We Dance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shall We Dance Reviews

Page 1 of 8
August 24, 2017
But there is nothing even deliciously bad or even fun bad in Shall We Dance, you won't find a moment of emotional truth, anywhere, nowhere, not in Richard Gere's twinkly demeanor, or in Susan Sarandon's googly eyeballs.
October 14, 2004
The entire feature feels poorly motivated and low on energy. There's clearly something missing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 15, 2004
Feels engineered the way women's magazines too often do: to deliver the feel-good without burdening us with too much feeling or thought.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 14, 2004
An unwieldy mess that gives every impression of having been made under a mandate to fill the Miramax crowd-pleaser slot.
October 14, 2004
Too bad the title Lost in Translation, which aptly describes much of the story of the Shall We Dance? remake, was already taken.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2004
Shall We Dance? gives us characters whose lives are transformed by the beauty and joy of dancing without ever showing us how.
October 11, 2004
Terrible film, terrible film.
October 19, 2004
There are good movies about the transformative power of dance, but all this one does is parade stock characters around and hint at tiny changes they've made in their lives.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
October 14, 2004
The new Dance is a lukewarm Hollywood T-ball game, where the only goal is to please every potential audience member out there in the great unknown.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
October 14, 2004
Shall We Dance? never seems to rise above its syrupy premise and ballroom antics.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 27, 2004
The best parts of Shall We Dance have more in common with Best in Show than Strictly Ballroom.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 15, 2004
Turns a sweet, lilting story into a clunky, clichéd and tedious movie sitcom.
October 15, 2004
A sugarcoated American remake with all the same charms, but also the same flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 24, 2006
Offers attractive, inoffensive characters and a smattering of broad laughs, but it fails to use its potential to explore weightier themes such as John's mid-life crisis.
October 18, 2004
Shall we Dance is a chick flick jack-in-the-box. In the beginning it elicits wide appeal...then suddenly morphs into Lifetime fare...
October 20, 2004
[Gere's] need to telegraph sappy good-heartedness with every shot drains away all trace of eroticism.
October 14, 2004
The original is about the restorative power of dance. The remake is about working a rap number into the movie so kids will buy the soundtrack.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
October 13, 2004
Instead of class, we get crass. Instead of living characters, we get lazy stereotypes. Instead of light effervescence, we get a lead balloon.
October 13, 2004
Shall We Dance opens so promisingly that it's a big disappointment when the picture suffers crucial missteps that throw off its entire rhythm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 14, 2004
Audrey Wells' badly flawed adaptation of the original screenplay tries to bridge [the] cultural gap but it doesn't work
Page 1 of 8