Un Baiser s'il vous plaît (Shall We Kiss?) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Un Baiser s'il vous plaît (Shall We Kiss?) Reviews

Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
November 18, 2011
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out
November 17, 2011
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
June 24, 2009
More quirky than wacky, this winning comedy only hits its romantic high when we return to that framing story, the storyteller who won't casually kiss because she knows, damn well, there's no such thing as a casual 'French' kiss.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
June 13, 2009
Mouret is the cinematic offspring of Woody Allen and Eric Rohmer. From the former he takes the actor-director presenting himself as neurotic but satisfying lover; from the latter he absorbs the pleasure of extended talk. Mouret's talk is enjoyable, but i
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
May 14, 2009
This quintessentially French bonbon is both sweet and dry, with just enough complexity to confound the fast-food appetite.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ted Fry
Seattle Times
April 23, 2009
[A] delightful and deeply satisfying French confection.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
April 23, 2009
Impossibly charming and impossibly French, Shall We Kiss? is a comic romance full of rueful musings about fidelity and true love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
April 17, 2009
An engaging romantic comedy that's deeper, smarter and more pessimistic than it appears at first glance, a film with shrewd insight into the mysteries of human attraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
April 16, 2009
It's an ode to the absurdity of attraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
April 10, 2009
Perhaps the film's biggest weakness is that all the characters are so naive and petty you can't really work up much fervour about who sleeps with whom.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
April 10, 2009
Equal parts ridiculous and romantic, Shall We Kiss is an airy French puff pastry of a film, delicate and sweet, if lacking in any heavy nutritional content.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Jason Anderson
Toronto Star
April 10, 2009
While it's hardly novel to see the lives of lovers thrown into disarray by a series of misunderstandings, missed signals and well-intentioned lies, Shall We Kiss? carries it all off with a rare degree of sophistication and wit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
April 10, 2009
The film's very slight (pick your comparison: bonbon, souffle, sorbet) but it has a way of lingering a while after you see it.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
April 9, 2009
Faultlessly tasteful but a little stale. Emmanuel Mouret wrote, directed and stars in this whimsical story of temptation and consequences.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Washington Post
April 9, 2009
It is as if the director had studied the comedies of Eric Rohmer and Woody Allen from top to bottom and come away with all the wrong lessons.
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
L.A. Weekly
April 9, 2009
If Rohmer is Mouret's closest reference, he has also learned much about smart dialogue and screwball couplings from the 1930s comedies of Hollywood vets like Hawks and Lubitsch, and those of his own countryman Sacha Guitry.
Top Critic
Andrea Gronvall
Chicago Reader
April 3, 2009
Gayet and Cohen generate enough heat in their section to upstage the leads.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 2, 2009
Is Shall We Kiss? without merit? Not entirely. It has a grace, a languid charm, a pictorial elegance. The plot, when it winds up and unwinds, is ingenious. But are we expected in any sense to find these people realistic?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
April 1, 2009
[An] enticing, weightless divertissement, a distant Gallic cousin to Woody Allen's talky comedies of romantic fumbling.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
March 30, 2009
The result is that Shall We Kiss? puts its viewers in a bind worthy of the lovers themselves: should we organize a Socratic symposium on the issues raised by the film, or hurl our popcorn violently at the screen?
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
March 30, 2009
If you have a hankering for a pretty good Woody Allen movie and want to brush up on your French at the same time, Shall We Kiss? is the ticket.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
March 27, 2009
Shall We Kiss? features crisp dialogue and understated humor, played out by an attractive young cast. Audiences bred on Hollywood romances might find the film too chatty and contemplative. To them I say: Get over it, kids!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
March 27, 2009
Shall We Kiss? is a slight movie, but it's also a quietly enjoyable one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
March 27, 2009
The matchmaking games in Emmanuel Mouret's romantic comedy Shall We Kiss? may backfire, but nobody is seriously hurt.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
March 26, 2009
Shall We Kiss? gives us storytelling as art. Emmanuel Mouret's romantic drama is expert, intricate, ineffably droll, ultimately provocative and entirely enchanting.
Top Critic
Noel Murray
AV Club
March 26, 2009
Between the pervasive old-world charm and the soundtrack's light classical music, Shall We Kiss? feels as pleasant and pointless as an afternoon of antiquing.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
March 25, 2009
The French cinema continues to be the source of our most timelessly enchanting romantic entertainment.
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
Village Voice
March 24, 2009
Bogs down in the philosophical shallow end and never quite recovers from what's clearly meant to be a deceptively light tone.
Top Critic
Derek Elley
Variety
October 18, 2008
Emmanuel Mouret continues his winning streak with Shall We Kiss? another Woody Allen-meets-Eric Rohmer romantic comedy in which the young writer-director again plays the doofus lead.