Shame - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shame Reviews

Page 2 of 155
August 10, 2016
As another reviewer mentioned, this is a movie about sex, without sex being the main focus. A really deep, dark look into the reality of one man.
½ August 8, 2016
Raw, haunting, and masterfully directed
August 5, 2016
Another hugely impressive performance from Fassbender !
Super Reviewer
½ August 1, 2016
An unpretentious, devastating character study that takes a disturbing look at sexual addiction with magnificent performances by Fassbender and Mulligan, and is directed with absolute control by Steve McQueen, who leaves no room for easy resolutions or happy endings.
July 14, 2016
Confusing at times but wow was this an entertaining one.
June 13, 2016
Lo único que se debe saber pa ver la película es que Fassbender interpreta a un adicto al porno y las prostitutas. Pero adicto en serio, no es broma el tema. Me pareció un tema cautivador, ya que existen muchas cosas de tipo adictivo (drogas legales e ilegales, hacer o ver deporte, apuestas, etc), y el sexo es una que no ha sido muy abordada en el cine.

La peli es por momentos angustiante. Una decisión de dirección fue hacer algunas escenas largas, que creo que transmiten bien las sensaciones del protagonista. Deja varias cosas (quizás demasiadas eso si) para la interpretación personal, lo que me parece bueno en el sobreexplicado cine de hoy. (Por favor hágannos pensar!). De todas formas creo que le faltó profundizar en algunas cosas. En algunas situaciones la pelota quedaba dando bote y el director no remató de volea. Por eso la peli no generó full empatía en mi, pese a algunas escenas muy buenas por parte de Fassbender y la actriz que interpreta a su hermana.

De todas formas creo que es una de esas típicas películas que no son redondas pero que dejan mucho para el lucimiento del actor/actriz principal. Yo creo que Fassbender es un gran gran actor, de esos que si le dejas servida una película más o menos buena el tipo la va a hacer buena. 3 de 5
½ June 5, 2016
This Film is fantastic!
½ May 31, 2016
It's a better film if you imagine it's called 'Magneto's Day Off'.
May 27, 2016
Like his first feature "Hunger", all the elements of Steve McQueen's second directorial effort exist to evoke not only an atmosphere, but a complete state of mind for the audience, which is in this case an overwhelming sense of bareness and despair. Give Michael Fassbender every existing award, then make up some new awards and give those to him too. The man's performance hypnotizes, and we're left with no choice but to empathize. NO CHOICE.
½ May 9, 2016
Shame is a very good movie with a great performance from Michael Fassbender as a sex addict who appears functional to the outside world, but is really damaged and wants to change. But i can't say that I enjoyed watching this movie. Although it is interesting, I can't get attached to any of the characters, and without the flawless and "ballsy" performance by Michael Fassbender, I dknt think I would have enjoyed this movie at all. I love the ending of the film as it really has a great character moment and is maybe the best part of the whole film. although graphic, the sex is never gratuitous and does fit the tone of the film. the directing and cinematography are absolutely gorgeous and are very good from Steve McQueen. overall I feel that this is a very good movie that I can't see myself ever watching again. it's worth watching for the performances but I can't recommend it.

7/10
April 30, 2016
As atuações de Michael Fassbender e Carey Mulligan são gigantes, e a direção de McQueen, aliada à bela fotografia, dão um apuro visual importante ao filme. Mas é fato que algumas das longas sequências, ainda que sirvam ao propósito da história, também é inegável que, por vezes, acabem quebrando o ritmo da narrativa.
April 18, 2016
There aren't enough films about sex addiction. Did I think that before watching this? Not really- why would that thought enter my mind? But did I think it after seeing this? Absolutely- 'Shame' shows that there's drama and depth a plenty to be found in stories around this issue.

It's a cold and unwelcoming film and it works primarily as a character study above anything else. If one were to strip the satire and absurdity from 'American Psycho' then they might end up with something like this.

McQueen's talent shows, as does that of the cast, but I was left hoping that it would just dig a little deeper. It's a bleak and slow piece that's filled with tense and unsettling moments but it's also a little too cold and distant for its own good as the audience are left feeling as if they've just experienced something that they don't quite understand. It's just a bit of a shame, you know?
April 6, 2016
A film that is blunt yet never beats you on the head, explicit yet also leaves the core issues unsaid. It is better upon reflection.
½ March 29, 2016
Very, very powerful scenes, very intense, it's an achievement in the visuals and script, but I felt it was too much for me. I felt a little uncomfortable, clearly it's not a fast entertaining movie.
March 22, 2016
3.8/5
A magnificent if uneven script, top notch performances and an escelent soundtrack, Shame is a powerful and depressing film that perfectly showcases McQueens vision.
March 14, 2016
Shame is a devastating and frank depiction of a man, played by Michael Fassbender, who suffers from unrelenting sex addiction and the toll it takes on his day-to-day life as he tries to cope with his affliction. Fassbender is a revelation in this film and his magnificent portrayal of Brandon is a sight to behold, he put himself out there in every way! Directed with class from rising artist-turned-director, Steve McQueen, this film is a challenging watch and certainly earns its NC-17 rating in the opening credits! A big part of the story, which is also extremely uncomfortable, is when his sister, Sissy, comes back into his life and there's an undertone of a salacious past between the two that borders on incest at times. Sissy is played brilliantly by the fearless, Carey Mulligan, and her shining scene is a long, unbroken performance of a song she sings in a bar that made the cast weep upon hearing it. The film naturally takes some dark turns as Brandon gets further and further down the rabbit hole, but when he hits rock bottom and becomes DESPERATE for sex, he sinks so low it's hard to watch. This is an honest, but strictly unique glimpse into the world of a sex addict that treats the subject matter with respect. but pulls no punches and it takes a mature viewer to appreciate this film.
½ March 12, 2016
Carrey and Michael were amazingly talented
March 10, 2016
Dramatic, erotic, gloomy.
This Steve McQueen's movie is poetical.
Brandon (Michael Fassbender) is one of the most studied characters of the story of modern cinema.
Fassbender is fantastic, this is his best performance and this is his best movie.

9.5/10

Review from Italy
Page 2 of 155