Shatter Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shatter Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ July 27, 2014
A zombie-ish movie about a girl who just wants to go home. There is some awesome imagry and style to be found in this 90s shot-on-video horror classic from Scooter McCrae, but if you're expecting hordes of the hungry undead feasting on human flesh for sustinance, then keep looking, because you won't find it here. Instead, we have a dark and interesting post-apocalyptic character study with the undead being of the type straight from the book of Revelations. They talk, think and feel, they just can not fully die. I would give this movie 4 stars for style and originality alone, but (without giving anything away) there IS the gun scene, which was completely unnecessary and self-masturbatory, and completely disruptive of the film's atmosphere and pacing. A scene I skip through during each viewing.
½ June 8, 2012
Yet, one of the funniest things I have ever seen.
June 8, 2011
This one would have benefited by a more focused script and better budget,but not bad for a zombie movie.
Super Reviewer
October 15, 2009
Not a bad zombie movie. A better budget and few script revisions would have made it a great zombie movie. Completely off the wall, especially the beginning. This was definitely the most unique I have seen in awhile.
October 13, 2009
This one would have benefited by a more focused script and better budget,but not bad for a zombie movie.
May 23, 2009
Have you ever wondered what a zombie movie would look like if it were made by a bunch of . . . community college dropouts with a budget of fifty dollars? Well, look no further.
March 19, 2009
March 18, 2009
This is one awesome low budget zombie movie. I own this DVD as well. Kicks ass. its not the kind of zombie movie where anyone gets eaten is very different. But still gory as hell...even with it being fake. The part where the pregnant zombie woman gets shot in the back with the shotgun and has her baby blown out of her stomach is brutal...and then u see her nursing her undead baby rigth afterwards. Now who could miss seeing that? LOL. anyways...awesome movie.
August 1, 2008
The plot sounds soo good. It wasn't that great, though
June 3, 2008
finest cinema of our time; exquisite direction from Scooter McCrae; Stark Raven sent chills down my spine with her command performance... BRAVO!! excellent use of curtains. Long Live The Lord Of The New Order!
May 31, 2008
Awful, pompous indie zombie flick, made by people who clearly feel superior to their own material. Director Scooter McCrae has slagged Bruno Mattei's HELL OF THE LIVING DEAD, but at least HELL is fun to watch. SHATTER DEAD cost me $ 7.99 and I still felt gyped...
April 24, 2008
Watching this movie made God hate me. I didn't miss rating this movie. Thats a zero you see. If you ever happen across this movie drop everything and run for it. After you watch it your pretty much damned ever after and you get that feeling right after the very first part of the first scene.
½ April 2, 2008
This Disaster was a Zombie-wanna-be artsy-fartsy-Erotic kinda of film, with amateur acting and Horrible script. If you like hairy genitalia you might enjoy this garbage. The main character appears to be high the whole film...A dead lesbian that takes a shower with her in a scene is the only good scene I will remember of this excuse me..I need Wash my eyes...
½ March 24, 2008
If you liked Night of the Living Dead, but wished it was terrible and involved sex with firearms, this is the movie for you!
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2008
Decent zombie flick with a different view of the apocalypse. Zombies become half homeless derelicts and the other half become religious zealots. McCrae is a good director and does a lot with his obviously miniscule budget. Just watch our for the surrealism and hard core porn.
½ January 5, 2008
This is the movie I said was the worst movie I ever saw and I saw I Spit on your Grave! "now We're both naked and free as blue jays." And all you bastards told me i made that up.
November 2, 2007
The premise of the movie had a lot of potential, but alas didn't do enough with it. Too many ideas were lightly touched upon, but none were explored deep enough. The movie could have been a lot darker if it would have explored what it's like being dead but alive. Not once did they mention the natural deterioration of the body due to decomposition or just regular wear and tare. Only injury. The characters were a snore as well. And don't get me started on the attempt at artistic, angelic porn. If it had something to do with the story (that I didn't need to consult the back of the DVD cover to get), it would have been okay but it was just too random. And the make shift strap on was just too much.

Again, I did like the concept and the opening after the butch lesbian angel of death clip was pretty good. Otherwise, I felt I could have spent my time better.

I walked away thinking I could have wrote a better movie.
½ September 18, 2007
I'll give it half a star...just for the directors attempt...but come on...we can do one hell of alot better than this
½ June 6, 2007
Pretentious bullshit.

The production values and acting a (slightly) better than the average Todd Sheets zombie movie, but the make-up is simply awful.

If you want to see a real zombie/art film, see CEMETERY MAN (DELLAMORTE DELLAMORE).
Page 1 of 2