She Hate Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

She Hate Me Reviews

Page 1 of 6

Film Threat
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael Ferraro
Film Threat
October 5, 2004
Watching it is like listening in on a heated debate amongst five people about various issues where all of them are talking at once and no one is stopping for a breath.
| Original Score: 3/5
September 14, 2004
Fascinating from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Elliott
San Diego Union-Tribune
September 10, 2004
Using sex so amusingly, Lee makes satire sexy.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
September 8, 2004
If Lee had focused, the film might have been a great one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
September 3, 2004
If you're truly adventurous in your movie-going and fed up with movies that play by the numbers, play it safe and come with audience-fawning reassurances, then She Hate Me just might be the harsh cinematic tonic you crave.
| Original Score: 3/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
August 19, 2004
The shards of this film have more audacity and intelligence than most of what is out there and its failures are more interesting to ponder than most films' successes.
| Original Score: B-
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
August 19, 2004
A reminder that Spike Lee is one of our great American filmmakers, unafraid to address, directly and artfully, contemporary issues in a context of national history.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
August 13, 2004
Within its messy framework there's a lot to like about She Hate Me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Richard James Havis
Film Journal International
August 8, 2004
Shot in a fast 26 days, the film has an off-the-cuff feel which makes up in enthusiasm what it lacks in polish.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
August 6, 2004
She Hate Me invites anger and analysis about the stereotypes it appears to celebrate; a film that attacked those stereotypes would inspire yawns.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
August 5, 2004
Fun to watch and fun to think about later; it's chockful of provocative statements about corporate morality, sexual hypocrisy and what's wrong about both today.
| Original Score: 3/4
Cynthia Fuchs
PopMatters
July 31, 2004
Spike Lee's She Hate Me begins with money.
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
July 29, 2004
A smart, sexy and original comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor
July 29, 2004
This intensely topical satire tackles a wide range of important issues, from corporate whistle-blowing to the toll sexual license takes on stable family structures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
July 28, 2004
May not be subtle or disciplined, but it is funny as hell.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Kevin Thomas
Los Angeles Times
July 28, 2004
When it comes to social issues, Lee is fiercely, admirably activist, but when it comes to sex, he plays into stereotypes and myths that are all the more easily reinforced because they occur in a raucously comic context.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kent Turner
Film-Forward.com
July 28, 2004
Forget the politics, bawdy humor wins out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
Variety
July 27, 2004
More often than not, the sheer originality and ambition of the project carry pic, which is further bolstered by its superb ensemble cast.
Nathan Lee
Film Comment Magazine
June 28, 2013
She Hate Me isn't subversive, it's insipid.
Page 1 of 6