She's Out of My League - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

She's Out of My League Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
October 1, 2012
Writers need to start shaking things up a bit. Have the couple split up for actual reasons. Allow them to see other people or go in a whole new direction. This ending has been done. This whole film has been done. The plot is tired. Let it rest.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
March 11, 2010
No, we still don't believe them as a couple. No, there aren't many surprises here.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lucy Barber
Boston Globe
March 12, 2010
While Baruchel is fun to root for and watch flail about like a pipe-cleaner in the wind, this movie encourages a sick desire in me - to see Michael Cera and all the runners-up in the Mr. Puniverse Contest knocked down a peg...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
March 17, 2010
Lots of bro-banter and bodily function goofs smother a good idea
Full Review | Original Score: C
Sam Bathe
Fan The Fire
May 26, 2010
The direction from first-timer Jim Field Smith is bland and without character, and you feel that if someone with more confidence and a swagger to their filmmaking had been in charge we'd have seen something that stepped beyond cinematic mediocrity
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
July 3, 2010
...has a few quality moments, and it doesn't default to the angry ugliness of so many fraternity-boy sexual comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 84/100
Nell Minow
Beliefnet
March 11, 2010
The title says it all, and the mismatch of tone parallels the mismatch in the story.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
March 11, 2010
I laughed here and there at She's Out of My League, but I sort of hated everything it had to say about nerds and babes and the sliding scale of self-image.
| Original Score: 2/4
Matthew Connolly
Slant Magazine
March 11, 2010
An uninspired romantic comedy/male self-esteem pep-talk that seems to be yearning for viewer affection despite its all-around mediocrity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Mike Hale
New York Times
March 12, 2010
The premise might work if the film were content to be a fairly undistinguished example of over-the-top gross-out comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Kimberly Gadette
Indie Movies Online
March 15, 2010
Like the confused hero standing at the cross-tarmac of his life, this film isn't sure which way's up. Derisive, sophomoric humor or perky rom-com? Underwear jokes or glowing life lessons on personal evolution?
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
March 12, 2010
Has a lot of spirit and heart and actually quite sweet, but it tries to shoehorn too many ideas into one movie and not all of them work.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
March 14, 2010
Mildly amusing and charming, but often bland, tedious and not nearly as funny as it could have been with a gutsier and more imaginative screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.0/10
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
March 12, 2010
You're out of its league.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Sean O'Neal
AV Club
March 11, 2010
Though Baruchel does his best to ground the film in some vague semblance of identifiable reality, he's surrounded on all sides by human cartoons, each pushing bad advice or roping him into the next grotesque comic setpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
June 23, 2010
A scenario ripped straight from a screenwriting computer program.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
April 1, 2010
I found some of the Judd Apatow films really funny. This is a pale imitation, not actually in their league at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Thomas Leupp
Hollywood.com
March 12, 2010
Jay Baruchel, a funny and solid supporting player, is not quite ready for the big leagues with this lackluster rom-com.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
March 12, 2010
There's barely a smirk in all of its padded hour and 45 minutes...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
April 5, 2010
... inoffensive but strictly routine ...
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7