She's Out of My League - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

She's Out of My League Reviews

November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
June 2, 2010
Like its hero, it has hidden depths -- it's just a shame they're not allowed to shine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 15, 2010
It's got a stale premise, dumb jokes, [and] characters who exist only to remind you of other characters in slightly better movies.
March 12, 2010
Nothing would work, though, without the appealing Baruchel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 12, 2010
There are compensations, in Baruchel's performance and in Eve's too (now that's an ingenue's name).
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
The premise might work if the film were content to be a fairly undistinguished example of over-the-top gross-out comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 12, 2010
She's Out of My League doesn't answer the question of whether a 10 would go for a 5, but rather if audiences are willing to settle for a 5.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 12, 2010
Director Jim Field Smith lifts his best beats from Judd Apatow, and his worst from American Pie.
March 12, 2010
The movie's terrific -- it's easily my favorite film released so far this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 12, 2010
The movie clearly aspires to rise to the smutty-but-sweet synergy of other, better films. But She's Out of My League can't touch them.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 12, 2010
Scenes that should be grotesquely funny (man helps another man with his intimate grooming, or the appearance of a Hall & Oates cover band) deliver only chuckles rather than a big payoff.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 12, 2010
She's Out of My League is a rowdy blast because the spiky young cast treats the played-out script like virgin territory. That's acting!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
The leads are better than the movie deserves. Baruchel is likable, and Eve comes off as somewhat more human than you expect in efforts like this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 12, 2010
We may know exactly where Kirk and Molly are headed -- he can't get over his good fortune and she can't abide being put on a pedestal -- but the movie keeps upending our expectations and provoking laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
There's barely a smirk in all of its padded hour and 45 minutes...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 12, 2010
This bad-mannered love story has a funny foul mouth with a few bright spots of charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
It's short on clever humor and big on convention and formula.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 12, 2010
A diverting showcase for Baruchel and Eve, who are excellent arguments for the proposition that there's more to a person than looks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 12, 2010
While Baruchel is fun to root for and watch flail about like a pipe-cleaner in the wind, this movie encourages a sick desire in me - to see Michael Cera and all the runners-up in the Mr. Puniverse Contest knocked down a peg...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 12, 2010
I'll say this: it's neither a "5" nor a "10," but somewhere in between.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 12, 2010
The movie also does well to let the supporting characters carry the comedic load.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 11, 2010
By mixing the sweetness of "Say Anything" with the silliness of "There's Something About Mary," "She's Out of My League" works as well as it does thanks to a real sense of heart and a killer ensemble.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 11, 2010
Though Baruchel does his best to ground the film in some vague semblance of identifiable reality, he's surrounded on all sides by human cartoons, each pushing bad advice or roping him into the next grotesque comic setpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: D
March 11, 2010
[T.J.] Miller's the find. He's out of this movie's league.
March 11, 2010
I laughed out loud a handful of times and chuckled on a regular basis. In the end, isn't that all we really want from those sweet, mindless comedies Hollywood continues to offer?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 11, 2010
No, we still don't believe them as a couple. No, there aren't many surprises here.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 11, 2010
I laughed here and there at She's Out of My League, but I sort of hated everything it had to say about nerds and babes and the sliding scale of self-image.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 11, 2010
The movie is not a comedy classic. But in a genre where so many movies struggle to lift themselves from zero to one, it's about, oh, a six point five.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 10, 2010
[A] one-joke sub-Judd Apatow snark-athon...
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 10, 2010
The movie is convincing enough to give every Kirk in the world a semblance of hope. Every once in a while, love really is blind.
March 10, 2010
What elevates She's Out of My League -- it doesn't turn a 5 into a 10, but it helps -- is heart, of which its characters have a surprising plenty.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 8, 2010
She's Out of My League is that rare modern screen comedy that is better than the trailers make it appear.
March 8, 2010
This appealingly cast movie seesaws from unlikely thoughtfulness to imbecilic vulgarity.