Shi gan (Time) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shi gan (Time) Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 12, 2007
With a wry tone all his own (the writer-director calls his thesis 'absurd'), South Korea's Kim Ki-duk asks in his calmly assured spellbinder a simple question: How far can we go to transform who we think we are?
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
July 12, 2007
Haunting and disturbing, Time is the kind of motion picture that gets under your skin and doesn't let go. It lingers long after the final credits have rolled and, for those who see it with friends, it will provoke endless post-movie discussions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
July 12, 2007
Time, with its mysteriously apt title and harshly lit modern interiors, succeeds on its own terms, establishing a daring atmosphere of dread.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
July 11, 2007
Woe are the fools who define themselves by physical appearance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
July 11, 2007
Whatever else it is, it's a clean, economical and handsome film, terrifically acted, with a heart full of treachery and mystery.
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
Village Voice
July 10, 2007
I can't see how anybody, no matter how keen to preserve a positive self-image, could fail to identify with Time, [director] Kim's cheerfully lunatic allegory about two young lovers.
Edward Douglas
July 10, 2007
Might have even the most diehard [Kim Ki-Duk] fans scratching their heads, but a strong indictment on why crazy people shouldn't be allowed to get plastic surgery.
| Original Score: 6/10
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
With the raised expectations brought from his last films it's certainly a disappointment that Time doesn't rise to the level I hoped for.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Harvey S. Karten
June 20, 2007
Korea's obsession with plastic surgery is satirized with humor and warmth by Kim Ki-duk using an attractive ensemble of young Korean actors.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
December 14, 2006
Entre viver na feiúra ou arriscar-se a ser um cadáver atraente, a primeira opção deveria sempre sair vencedora. E o fato de muitos optarem pela segunda alternativa é um sinal claro de que o mundo passou a aceitar praticamente tudo em nome da "beleza".
| Original Score: 5/5
Martha Fischer
September 23, 2006
The problem with Time is that every character in the film is so fundamentally repulsive it's impossible to care about any of them.
Top Critic
John DeFore
Hollywood Reporter
September 15, 2006
Kim brings more warmth and humor into Time than he has in some of his best-known work.
Jon Popick
Planet Sick-Boy
September 14, 2006
Reminded me a lot of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.
Page 2 of 2