Shine a Light - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shine a Light Reviews

Page 1 of 7
April 4, 2008
Watching Keith Richards paraded around like a man in a character costume at Disneyland I found myself realizing how f***ing lame this group has become... This isn't rock and roll - this is a very loud Lawrence Welk performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 27, 2009
Sparkles like polished ember encasing dinosaur DNA, but Scorsese's best jukeboxes have little use for such reverence
February 7, 2008
At the end of a very long night, Light is simply another in a long line of Rolling Stones concert films.
April 1, 2008
It's a shame this movie wasn't made 20 to 30 years ago when Scorsese or the Stones were at their prime.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 4, 2008
I'm not convinced the world needs a handsomely assembled movie of the Stones doing their songs exactly the way they've been doing them for 40 years, especially since it's easy to dig up a dozen previous Stones concert films.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 3, 2008
inadvertently defines our time of political correctness and accessibility through censorship
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 29, 2008
mia hliara entyposiaki, minimalistiki binteoskopisi mias hliara apolaystikis synaylias, poy se fernei arketa prosopo me prosopo me ton Jagger, ton Richards kai t' alla paidia, oste na moiazei me kati poy tha mporoyse na ehei skinothetisei o Romero, kai se
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 26, 2008
Not much light to shine on the aging Rolling Stones.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 2, 2008
The legendary rockers never did much for me musically, and so a film that's 95 percent live performance does even less.
| Original Score: 2/4
August 23, 2017
In many ways [Shine a Light is] an unintentional funeral dance commemorating the vanished vitality and subversive potential of mainstream rock 'n' roll and celebrating its current utility as a nostalgic anodyne.
April 4, 2008
Aside from threading in a few black-and-white clips of the band being interviewed in the mid-60s, Scorsese doesn't have much to say about the Stones, and their unfeeling professionalism onstage says quite enough already.
April 4, 2008
More vanity project than essential document of the World's Greatest Rock and Roll Band in what we can presume to be the twilight of its godhood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 7, 2008
At times, the cutting shifts from the hasty to the impatient to the borderline epileptic, and, while never doubting Scorsese's ardor for the Stones, I got the distinct impression of a style in search of a subject.
August 27, 2008
It's unfortunate that the unfairest criticism one can level at Shine a Light is arguably the most legitimate as well: it's no Gimme Shelter
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 3, 2008
Those of us who'd hoped Scorsese would make a film closer in spirit to No Direction Home, his Bob Dylan profile, will consider Light a wasted effort.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 4, 2008
The filmmaking tries to generate excitement; it doesn't capture it.
April 9, 2008
Buddy Guy makes his guest appearance his own, and for an all too brief couple of minutes, carries the movie off to some other dimension.
April 4, 2008
Scorsese captures the Stones at their ancient, un-ironic best, bluesy showmen who leave it all on the stage every night, never for a moment letting on that they're playing, for the 10,000th time, 40-year-old hits.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
April 4, 2008
Shine a Light combines his foreknowledge with the versatility of great cinematographers so that it essentially seems to have a camera in the right place at the right time for every element of the performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
April 4, 2008
There's more than a bit of satisfaction to be had in Shine a Light, which starts with a clever tussle of the dynamic wills of Jagger and Scorsese.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 7