The Shining - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Shining Reviews

Page 1 of 4
December 21, 2016
Anyone coming to this work for the first time should be forewarned that the will generate more giggles (and perhaps a yawn or two), but there is absolutely nothing here to fear.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
May 22, 2016
Shock effect and graphic imagery don't compensate for the sense of pointlessness and even distaste that is left at the end of the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 17, 2016
If The Shining isn't trivial, it certainly encourages one to think that it is. But, perhaps, even that's a change for the better. Generally, it's the other way around.
June 17, 2014
One of the best scary movies ever made, one of the best scary movies even imaginable.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
October 6, 2013
A masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 6, 2013
The Shining is like a near-miss auto accident: You don't know how scared you really were until you start shaking a few hours later.
May 13, 2013
The first time I saw Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, I had to turn it off during three key moments... Perhaps this time, I prayed, [it] would seem almost comically silly. Yeah, not so much.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 19, 2013
...above all a movie about spaces, and how few things are more frightening than not knowing which way to go.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 8, 2012
Strange and deeply creepy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 7, 2012
The technique is as overpowering as Nicholson's performance, which is both hammy and deeply disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 4, 2012
Kubrick's compositions and Jack Nicholson going kill-crazy with an axe remain hard to beat on the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 4, 2012
It's all in the build-up: Kubrick sets the scene for the horror with meticulous care.
November 2, 2012
Re-cut or not, The Shining remains one of the most viscerally disturbing films ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 1, 2012
Deeply scary and strange.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 1, 2012
Essential viewing. Prepare to be disturbed.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 29, 2012
Its artful ambiguities are immersive. Check in.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 9, 2012
As in 2001, Kubrick likes ghost stories more than I do. And he gives me enough else, in the way of acting and bizarrely beautiful surroundings, to keep me happy.
September 30, 2012
Stanley Kubrick's film is a work of art that will continue to be broken down and explored for decades to come...
October 21, 2010
Kubrick doesn't dumb it down or anything, but he's not actively trying to appeal only to film connoisseurs either. If any of his movies could be called mainstream, it's this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 21, 2010
Kubrick has made a movie that will have to be reckoned with on the highest level.
Page 1 of 4