The Shining - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Shining Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Top Critic
Ernest Leogrande
New York Daily News
May 22, 2016
Shock effect and graphic imagery don't compensate for the sense of pointlessness and even distaste that is left at the end of the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
September 6, 2002
The trappings are brilliant, but Kubrick ultimately loses the essence of the source material - and he's too good to expect anything less.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Variety Staff
May 8, 2007
With everything to work with, director Stanley Kubrick has teamed with jumpy Jack Nicholson to destroy all that was so terrifying about Stephen King's bestseller.
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
October 11, 2003
One of Kubrick's most severely overcooked, overdetermined projects; Duvall fascinates, but the rest bores and wearies.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Eleanor Ringel Gillespie
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
March 7, 2005
I fear all work and no play has made Stanley a dull boy.
Top Critic
Gary Arnold
Washington Post
June 5, 2002
I can't recall a more elaborately ineffective scare movie.
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
May 8, 2007
Kubrick is after a cool, sunlit vision of hell, born in the bosom of the nuclear family, but his imagery -- with its compulsive symmetry and brightness -- is too banal to sustain interest, while the incredibly slack narrative line forestalls suspense.
Derek Malcolm
February 17, 2016
If The Shining isn't trivial, it certainly encourages one to think that it is. But, perhaps, even that's a change for the better. Generally, it's the other way around.
Killian Fox
Observer (UK)
November 4, 2012
It's all in the build-up: Kubrick sets the scene for the horror with meticulous care.
Andy Lea
Daily Star
November 8, 2012
Strange and deeply creepy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Hatch
The Nation
October 9, 2012
As in 2001, Kubrick likes ghost stories more than I do. And he gives me enough else, in the way of acting and bizarrely beautiful surroundings, to keep me happy.
Ralph Novak
People Magazine
October 6, 2013
The Shining is like a near-miss auto accident: You don't know how scared you really were until you start shaking a few hours later.
Ashley Clark
Little White Lies
November 1, 2012
Essential viewing. Prepare to be disturbed.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Simon Miraudo
May 13, 2013
The first time I saw Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, I had to turn it off during three key moments... Perhaps this time, I prayed, [it] would seem almost comically silly. Yeah, not so much.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Emma Dibdin
Digital Spy
November 2, 2012
Re-cut or not, The Shining remains one of the most viscerally disturbing films ever made.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Eric Henderson
Slant Magazine
November 19, 2007
It's the experience more so than the actual content of The Shining that radiates cold, anti-humanly indifferent terror.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 8, 2007
The movie is not about ghosts but about madness and the energies it sets loose in an isolated situation primed to magnify them.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
April 30, 2009
As a ghost story and adaptation of the Stephen King novel, it's largely a failure. On the other hand, as an example of directorial bravura and as a study of madness and the unreliable narrator, it's a brilliant success.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Adrian Turner
Radio Times
November 7, 2012
The technique is as overpowering as Nicholson's performance, which is both hammy and deeply disturbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Leo Goldsmith
Not Coming to a Theater Near You
November 1, 2004
If Stanley Kubrick's The Shining is not the best haunted house movie ever made, it is certainly among the most intricately constructed.
Page 1 of 4