Shrek 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shrek 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 12
January 17, 2016
It's just as good - if not better - than the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 6, 2014
The animation by which it stands or falls is as brilliant as ever and, though it wouldn't really be right to call it totally anti-Disney, it certainly trumps that institution for sharpness of focus, notably as far as the screenplay is concerned.
December 6, 2014
All hail the angriest rebel since James Dean. All right, he's green, pot-bellied, and has the social graces of a slug. But in terms of attitude? Peerless.
December 6, 2014
Go and see Shrek 2. You'll enjoy yourself thoroughly. Only the churlish could find any faults.
December 6, 2014
Donkey, with his endless asides and phenomenally thick skin, is as much of a pleasure as he was in the first film, but he has a challenger: Puss in Boots, voiced by Antonio Banderas.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2014
Don't get me wrong. I'm not sulking. I liked Shrek 2. Honest. Kids will like Shrek 2. Most mums and dads will like Shrek 2. My problem is this: I didn't love it the way I loved Shrek.
December 6, 2014
It's a close call as to which one's better.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 6, 2014
It's not often that a sequel is richer and deeper than the original creation, especially when we're talking about the offerings of Hollywood. But Shrek 2 is the exception.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 6, 2014
The characters are still charming, the animation really is spectacularly smooth and expressive, and the Looney Tunes-style humor and pop-culture in-jokes are as inventive and hilarious as before.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2014
Shrek 2 is as much of a shriek as the original and if they keep putting out films as charming as this one, we'll all live happily ever after.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 6, 2014
Like the original, Shrek 2 remains exceptional value for money for all age groups and essential winter viewing.
December 6, 2014
Shrek 2 retains all the fun, artistry and pop stylings of Shrek.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 25, 2013
The movie is obvious, but consistently entertaining and animated in DreamWorks's "realistic" digitized style.
November 25, 2013
Shrek 2 does not feel like a sequel. It's very funny, very fresh, and leaves one anxious for the next installment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 25, 2013
If fall movies were this consistently clever, there would never be reason to hesitate before plunking down hard-earned bucks at the multiplex.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 25, 2013
There's plenty of subtle satire and double entendres for young and old alike to savour.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 25, 2013
A minor improvement on the original, and so a major triumph. Donkey bags the heartiest laughs, but Puss-In-Boots adds plenty of cream on top.
November 25, 2013
Shrek was no ordinary animated film, and Shrek 2 is, rarer still, proving every bit as cute, clever and funny as the original.
November 25, 2013
Can an ogre live happily ever after? Can fairy tale characters be content with their fairy tale lives? Can an Oscar-winning animated success generate a successful sequel? To all these questions, Shrek 2 is happy to answer yes, yes and yes.
November 25, 2013
This second edition of DreamWorks's Oscar-winning ogre opus may not match the original for, well, originality, but it honors the prime injunction governing sequels: To thine own characters be true.
Page 1 of 12