Silver Linings Playbook - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Silver Linings Playbook Reviews

Page 2 of 535
March 2, 2017
There's always a way to find happiness and this movie shows how much you can change if you find the right person, i must say that i really liked this movie, maybe it's not the greatest movie of all times but it sure has something amazing to offer and it's up to you to understand the message of this film.
February 22, 2017
My all time number 1 movie. A perfect depiction of mental illness, without overly saddening the audience. A beautiful story of how two struggling individuals saved one another without even realizing it.
February 21, 2017
Grade - A-
David O. Russell once again delivers a fun, realistic, heartfelt story packed with great performances, loveable characters and wonderfully written dialogue. An uplifting movie not to be missed.
February 4, 2017
Atypical for what is, on the surface, a romantic comedy; It combines elements of multiple genres, it's able to achieve a balance between its multiple themes and array of characters, and it features some strong acting performances, including a surprising performance from Lawrence. Some of the plotting may be a bit questionable, but at least it has more elements of realism than an average romantic comedy.
½ January 31, 2017
David O'Russell's finest work. One of the best flawed character story tellers. And although there are a lot of characters, he manages to develop the important one's with no trouble. Smart, funny, well acted and always makes me tear up at the end. Silver Linings is excellent.
January 28, 2017
This drama is easy to get invested into because of it's great screenplay and A list cast. Bradley Cooper hits a career best and you always know you're going to get something good out of Robert De Niro. Jennifer Lawrence was 50/50 for me. On one side, when she was calm and even tempered, I thought her performance was subtlety brilliant. However, when she was shouting and screaming, I thought it was over the top (which she does often do) and it seemed like she was begging for the Oscar. Which payed off because she won. That is my only problem though because other than that, it is well directed, it has hilarious humour and some important messages.
January 11, 2017
Some "Stepford Wife" ladies told me they just didn't get it. Which is basically the best compliment it could receive. It's just real, authentic, sweet, true, and honest. Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper are wonderful in it, as is the story and the rest of the cast. Delightfully raw and quirky without trying hard. Love it.
January 10, 2017
Solid movie with a great cast.
December 31, 2016
It's good movie to watch
½ December 29, 2016
Certainly Best Picture worthy material here...that is, until the dust settles from the opening twenty minutes. The film's first twenty minutes are a chore to watch, with Bradley Cooper's character coming off as too jarring and annoying to root for. Once he engages with Jennifer Lawrence's character, however, the two put forth the performances of their careers. Several clever plot twists keep the audience member entertained and focused on the plot's development as Cooper's character goes from annoying to tolerable to completely likeable, while Lawrence's character drives the entire plot with scene after scene of emotive acting. An incredible film, albeit one that stumbles out of the gate, but makes absolutely sure to blaze through the finish line.
December 29, 2016
Wanna be love found in a twisted world of life fates
December 19, 2016
This movie surprised me. I really enjoyed it. I am starting to like Jennifer Lawrence a lot.
December 16, 2016
Mielenkiintoinen leffa hyvillä näyttelijöillä! ^_^ (Suom. Unelmien pelikirja)
December 9, 2016
Con actuaciones excepcionales, El lado bueno de las cosas se hace un hueco en las mejores peliculas de la década. Imprescindible verla.
December 3, 2016
Rather uneven movie with a great cast, great director, but mediocre writing. The dialogue was so, so painful but the actors were able to overcome it with their performances. Bradley Cooper had acting chops that I have not seen but his dancing was pretty painful to watch. Robert DiNero chews up the scenery whenever he is on screen, and I could almost sent that Cooper was pretty much in awe. Lawrence was a lovely ingenue who does know how to shake her booty but other than adorable she is pretty average as an actress. Sorry it did not make more of a statement on mental illness, there was more than an opportunity but it's happy-happy ending kind of failed it.
November 23, 2016
Great performance of Jennifer Lawrence!
½ November 23, 2016
The feel-good movie of 2012, David O. Russell directs a stellar movie focusing on 2 people trying to overcome their mental issues. Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, and especially Robert DeNiro we're so good. The chemistry between Cooper and Lawrence has been seen on several occasions, this being the best. I absolutely loved the portrayal of Cooper's dad by DeNiro. He's the father who wishes he did more for his son instead of focusing on one child. Jacki Weaver also did an excellent job. I also really liked the few scenes with Chris Tucker. The writing in this film is so good as well and only makes it better with the jobs this cast provided. I'm not sure if this deserved as many awards as it was nominated for, but Silver Linings Playbook is great.
November 16, 2016
This one is something else.probably the best of decade. The not so romantic but stick in deep ground of reality type rom-com. Thoroughly loved the performance of lead cast. Do give it a watch. It does have a silver lining. Thumbs up.
November 5, 2016
I loved it so much, Jennifer and Brad's actuation was just flawless, as always.
October 25, 2016
Shedding light on a once-taboo subject, director David O. Russell's adaptation of Matthew Quick's novel draws on both contributor's personal experiences with mental illness. A poignant emotionally-resonant film that is both charming and funny, Russell artfully never glosses over the angst of difficulty of situation but doesn't wallow either.

The Silver Linings Playbook is a unique blend of deft pacing, accentuating camerawork, combustible acting, intriguing cast combinations, a stellar screenplay, prudent dialogue, astute direction and the relatable topic of a dysfunctional family in turmoil; that is completely deserves its eight Oscar nods.

Unadvisedly released under plea-bargain from an eight month stint in a Baltimore mental hospital for attacking his wife's lover in their shower, Pat Solatano (Bradley Cooper) is surprisingly upbeat, holding on to his mantra of Excelsior like a life raft.
Determined to find the silver lining in battling his bi-polar disorder, depression and anxiety, Pat is willing to jump through as many precarious hoops as required in his quest for emotional stability and to repair the damage he's done by earning back the love of his estranged wife.

His well-meaning mother Dolores (Jacki Weaver) didn't consult his father (Robert De Niro) before picking up their damaged son, and although rooting for him, Pat Sr. is skeptical about his son's optimistic recovery. Persisting with his theory of family togetherness as it coincides with his own mass of neuroses as a failing bookie, his extreme fandom for the Philadelphia Eagles is fueled by outlandish OCD superstitions proving that the apple hasn't fallen far from the tree.

As expected, Pat's recovery derails frequently, until he meets a mysterious girl with similarly complicated problems. A recent widow with excessively low self-esteem, the highly inappropriate Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence) buries her issues in sexual encounters (with literally anyone).

Her sexual offer rebuffed by Pat and his unfounded faithfulness his restraining order welding wife, Tiffany agrees to help Pat breach the gap by deliver a letter, but in return he must agree to be her partner in a local dance competition.

Although blackmailed, the more they practice, the better they sidestep their issues. But when Pat Sr. and Tiffany face off for Pat's attention, can a deal that accommodates and benefit all their eccentrics be found or will things spiral completely out of control?
Each character layered with their own complexities, the ensemble cast is terrific. Cooper is marvelous in his most multidimensional role to date. Inspired and convincing, he strikes a measured between twitching social ineptness and edgy impulse control.

Versatile It-girl Lawrence is outstanding. At just 22 she not afraid to step outside convention to achieve acting greatness and as the sex-driven widow going through a spectacular meltdown of her own she is sheer dynamite.

Effortlessly bouncing off of each other's energy, their potent chemistry and sexual tension is something from rom-com lovers to savior. De Niro delivers his best performance in years in a somewhat familiar OCD driven role, whilst Tucker (in his first non-Rush Hour film since 1997) is fantastic for so many reasons.

The Verdict: With disarming ease this movie demands closer inspection. The Silver Linings Playbook is a brave accomplishment for all and an intelligently rich adult-centric comedy experience for audiences.

Published: The Queanbeyan Age
Date of Publication: 01/02/2013
Page 2 of 535