The Simpsons Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Simpsons Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Charlotte O'Sullivan
This is London
August 2, 2015
The big-screen Simpsons are mildly entertaining, but too much of this is as flabby as Homer's belly.
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
August 2, 2015
The Simpsons Movie successfully makes a big experience of one of the greatest TV shows of all time.
Matt Prigge
Philadelphia Weekly
August 2, 2015
Why do I still feel a bit jilted? Because the premise is actually kind of promising.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Christopher Orr
The New Republic
August 2, 2015
There were plenty of decent jokes, but I've already forgotten most of them; I suspect within a month's time I'll be hard pressed to recall much about the movie at all beyond a vague sense of disappointment.
Mike Davies
Birmingham Post
August 2, 2015
Simpsons fans will love it unreservedly, I was amused and passably entertained. It's better if less daring than the South Park movie and sharper if less poignant than the first Rugrats one.
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
August 2, 2015
It's very well written and, as I say, it's consistently funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Margaret Pomeranz
At the Movies (Australia)
August 2, 2015
A very knowing, self-aware cinema experience, [and] fans of the series will love it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Philip French
Observer [UK]
August 2, 2015
I laughed sporadically at this enjoyable film.
Christopher Borrelli
Toledo Blade
August 2, 2015
Considering the show, though still funny, has seen better years, it s everything you could expect from a Simpsons movie manic and smart, not quite days of fire and vim, but like a visit with a dear old friend.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mal Vincent
The Virginian-Pilot
August 2, 2015
Its lack of ambition is admirable - and practical since it already is a national treasure. It remains rude but warmhearted. We need not ask for more.
Aaron Mesh
Willamette Week
August 2, 2015
All of which makes it harder to see The Simpsons Movie for what it is: A mediocre film based on an obsolete television show.
David Edwards
Daily Mirror [UK]
August 2, 2015
There's a great half-hour show rattling around in here somewhere, but the rest is padding at its very dullest.
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union
August 2, 2015
It's impossible to keep the Simpsons down. Even during those draggy parts, you need to stay alert: You never know when the film's 11 credited screenwriters will unleash another zinger.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Steve Persall
Tampa Bay Times
August 2, 2015
For the faithful, The Simpsons Movie delivers plenty of "woo-hoos," interrupted by only a handful of "d'ohs."
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Deborah Ross
The Spectator
August 2, 2015
Did I laugh? You bet. Are there sight gags aplenty? You bet.
John Harkness
NOW Toronto
August 2, 2015
The execution is reasonably funny in the hit-and-miss manner of latter-day episodes, but translating The Simpsons to the big screen is a pointless exercise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Edward Johnson-Ott
NUVO Newsweekly
June 24, 2015
Did the movie deliver on its promise? No, but then again, my expectations were huge.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick Pinkerton
Stop Smiling
August 24, 2014
The consensus is right: It's only pretty funny, which is all it needed to be.
Jay Stone
Canada.com
August 24, 2014
The Simpsons Movie gives us much of what we love about the characters, and if there is not enough of some of them, there is something of most of them.

Total Film
August 4, 2013
Worth every minute of the 17-year wait, The Simpsons Movie confirms Groening's creation as the smartest, funniest, most inventive cartoon in history.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 11