Sin City - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sin City Reviews

Page 1 of 13
October 16, 2014
Now that I've seen the late-arriving sequel, I can't for the life of me work out why I ever thought it would be a good idea.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 1, 2005
This big-screen treatment of Miller's graphic novels is a soft- core marathon of stylized mayhem, flesh-pot excess and cinematic pretense.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 31, 2005
I found the movie every bit as sickening as its creators intended it to be, minus the kicks they so palpably got out of making it.
April 14, 2013
While Sin City on screen evokes the same feeling of bottomless decadence and dread that the novels do, there is one crucial difference -- you can put the novels down.
April 1, 2005
It's easy to appreciate the artistry of Sin City... but equally hard to appreciate the film.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 28, 2005
The major problem is that after about 10 minutes, you've seen all the movie's tricks. The look is hypnotic yet never changes.
March 29, 2005
Accuracy isn't the same thing as quality.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 31, 2005
Sin City has been made with such scrupulous care and obvious love for its genre influences that it's a shame the movie is kind of a bore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 3, 2005
Time was when movie-makers, even laws-unto- themselves such as Sam Peckinpah, could be trusted to examine the consequences of living every moment in mortal danger: violence meant something more to them than simple connoisseurship.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 16, 2007
While the book succeeded in pushing the boundaries of its medium, the film merely feels like a triumph of technology.
March 31, 2005
You know you've gone beyond run-of-the-mill movie violence when you need to use the plural for 'castrations.'
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
April 2, 2005
Capturing the full comic book flavor alone doesn't make it a good movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 23, 2005
Sin City's noir trappings are just empty attitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 29, 2005
Rodriguez loves his material so much that he embalmed it.
March 30, 2005
So seduced by the visual possibilities of sin that style becomes its own vice.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 1, 2005
What we get isn't so much a dismantled and rearranged puzzle-piece narrative as much as a song stripped of its verses, till all we're left with is the chorus.
March 31, 2005
Sin City is one of those films that you know going in is either going to be super-cool or ultra-awful. And in this case, depending on how you look at it, you can't lose or you can't win, because it's both.
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 1, 2005
See with your eyes and Sin City may knock them out. See through them, however, and you'll see how empty these shadowy streets truly are.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 2, 2005
Sigmund Freud probably would have had a field day with this one.
Full Review
September 7, 2007
Sin City plays like a "gateway drug" for violence porn ... [disregarding] matters like suffering, conscience, and responsibility.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Page 1 of 13