Sing Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 24, 2019
Sing might be passable in a lesser year of animation but the fundamental flaws in the film kneecap it from the beginning.
March 8, 2019
There is absolutely no reason the characters in Sing are animals...the plot would function if they didn't have tails and scales, and the film doesn't even bother to whip up much in the way of animal-based comedy.
August 27, 2018
Sure, they can all sing. But that's not really the point.
August 22, 2018
"Sing" is two-dimensional and this gets in the way of it being any more than a blip on the radar of memorability.
March 30, 2018
[Zootopia's] comparisons to Sing would not be so harmful if this animal music contest had more to offer... [Full review in Spanish]
February 22, 2018
Why can't monkey's and penguins in this world have higher aspirations?
February 22, 2018
It spends way too much time on the antics of Buster and his slacker sidekick in a plotline that kids won't get and parents won't enjoy.
November 4, 2017
SING is a wasted opportunity to really dig down deep to explore a world we'd dream of living in. Worse, it fails to put a song in our hearts.
October 1, 2017
Puts six massively trite subplots into a blender...and mashes them into a uniform paste that can be spackled across 108 unreasonably long minutes.
May 3, 2017
Sing is formulaic, amusing at places but will be forgotten as soon as you step out. And unless you are writing a review, I don't see why you should remember it anyway.
February 6, 2017
With the exception of Buster Moon's best friend, a sheep named Eddie and his once-famous theater star grandmother, Nana, every other character in this grand charade is a stereotype, and in the worst way possible.
January 26, 2017
It's got all the personality of an X-Factor finale.
January 26, 2017
It feels passionless and market-tested; an unconvincing cover version of fun.
January 6, 2017
The new stuff is dull and forgettable, while the oldies are dismissed after a few bars before we can even start tapping our feet, as if writer-director Garth Jennings can't wait to get on to the next pointless scene. And at 108 minutes, it's far too long.
January 1, 2017
the film has a tonal imbalance that makes you feel like you're constantly see-sawing, with one moment pandering to tykes and the next pandering to their parents
December 31, 2016
Despite having a star-filled cast and adorable animals I spent a great deal of the movie reminiscing about how much I enjoyed the animal world of Zootopia more.
December 29, 2016
Sing is not a total bust. It's just not as electrifying or as exciting as it perhaps could have been.
December 29, 2016
All this star power and musical talent in the voice cast is great. It should have gone for more.
December 29, 2016
Buy the kids the soundtrack, skip the cynical movie
December 28, 2016
From the first few minutes of the movie, it's clear exactly how it will end. There is not one moment of surprise. A few kids with costumes and a stage could dream up something much more fun.
Page 1 of 3