Sing Me the Songs That Say I Love You: A Concert for Kate McGarrigle - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sing Me the Songs That Say I Love You: A Concert for Kate McGarrigle Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
Farran Smith Nehme
New York Post
June 28, 2013
There's virtually no biographical content. The songs stick very much to one plaintive folk-pop style, and if that is not your passion, the flood of concert footage becomes wearing fairly early on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
June 29, 2013
Warm and poignant, but with excessive use of concert footage and lack of insight/intrigue. Strictly for avid fans of Kate McGarrigle. Just listening to the soundtrack might be more rewarding and satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
Top Critic
Nick Schager
AV Club
June 26, 2013
More frustrating than the film's inability to impart a full-bodied portrait of its subject ... is a more general directorial ordinariness.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
New York Times
June 25, 2013
As a musical experience, it is generous and moving. But as a documentary, "Sing Me the Songs" is an awkward hybrid of concert film and rock-star biography.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Alan Scherstuhl
Village Voice
June 27, 2013
The film is both celebration and elegy, a sing-along and a cry-along, a cathartic moan and a perfect bliss-out.
Top Critic
Sophie Harris
Time Out
June 25, 2013
Given that the entire show and film is dedicated to McGarrigle, you wish this exquisitely made, undeniably moving family album featured even more of the singer herself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Stephen Dalton
Hollywood Reporter
November 19, 2013
Rufus and Martha Wainwright host an all-star tribute concert for their late mother, folk singer Kate McGarrigle, in this old-fashioned but engrossing rock-doc .
Page 1 of 1