Single White Female 2: The Psycho - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Single White Female 2: The Psycho Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 8, 2014
13 Years After The First One Was Released, This Sequel Is A Low-Budgeted, Bad Scripted & Badly Acted And Acts More As A Remake Rather Than A Sequel. This One However Switches The Roles With The Owner Of The Apartment Being The Psycho & The New Roomate Being Sane. The Film's Sub-Title However Is Not Needed, "The Psycho", Is This Film Trying To Treat It's Viewers Like Idiots, Was Jennifer Jason Leigh Not A Psycho In The Original Film. This Film Was Made At The Time A String Of Direct-To-DVD Sequels Were Getting Made For Cult Classics In MGM & Sony Pictures' Film Library & Like These Other Films Should Be Avoided.
Super Reviewer
August 10, 2013
It's not awful, but it's pretty pointless. Feels like watching the original with a less convincing cast and lower budget. There's a few very minor changes, but mostly it's a remake. To be honest, I was pretty bored through most of it.
I think I vaguely remember renting it when it was first released and couldn't remember it at all - now I remember why, nothing of note at all here. If you have never seen the original, it "may" be acceptable viewing if its on TV, but otherwise, give it a miss.
½ May 23, 2013
10 times worse than the already bad original.
Super Reviewer
½ December 31, 2012
It was as I feared, almost a remake of the original with some scenes/ideas taken straight from the first film. I knew what to expect but hoped for some new twists shocks, not the same ideas from the first. Stick with the very good original, and miss this low budget follow up.
October 18, 2012
Awful remake. YES, this was really a remake of the first film. How was this even a sequel?

Besides that, it was just full of cliches, and, like the first one, it started out slow and had unnecessary sexual content. The suspense was awful, the story was so unoriginal and laughable.
½ July 27, 2012
Not so much a sequel as a completely unnecessary remake of the first, which was ok, but certainly not in need of repeating. Devoid of the original's uniqueness, SWF2 is like a Lifetime Movie version with a slightly altered story line (plot and plot devices are almost entirely the same). Not sure why it even deserved an R rating. All the original's language and most of the nudity and gore are also missing from this unimaginative dup.
½ July 14, 2012
What an abortion. The plot is essentially the same as the original albeit a very few turns which make you yawn rather than keep you at the edge of your seat.
½ May 5, 2012
Nothing compared to the episode 1. The actors were quite bad...
March 13, 2012
The beginning is oh so... all for men ! But the end was good, not a remake but a lot like the first one.
Super Reviewer
½ August 20, 2011
"Yeah, it's been 13 years since the original Single White Female so nobody except the fans will remember the plot progression and key story points, we can just insert them into this movie! But how are we gonna get people to watch this?? Wait, I know - we'll buy the naming rights and call it a sequel! That way we'll get the fans of the first move to watch it and....


As shameless a screenplay clone as any film since Cannonball Run II with worse acting & direction. I watched this not because I'm a fan of the original (which I am) but solely because the perennially plucky Kristen Miller plays the Bridget Fonda part. She does what she can and looks amazing while fighting off both psycho roommates and choppy editing. For that it's worth a slender tick above her other regrettable 2005 film entry The Fallen Ones.
½ June 20, 2011
there is no reason for this abomination to exist. it makes stealth look like no country for old men. the director should cut open his stomach, pull out his guts, spool them through a projector, and press play.
Super Reviewer
½ February 23, 2011
Independent sequel? How about poor re-imagining?
½ February 19, 2011
Nothing compared to the episode 1. The actors were quite bad...
February 17, 2011
I don't know how it's the original,but this one is quite watchable,even if it's not a horror movie but mostly a thriller.The acting of the protagonist is not very convincing,I'll rather say a little bit shameful.
½ February 10, 2011
The first half of the movie is swxy
February 7, 2011
I've seen the movie it's...horrible!!! it makes the First SWF look like a masterpiece. I thought it was great to see a sequel but what kills the movie is the sex scenes I was watching it on Demand today and I'm thinking...WTF Seriously? At least we could've got a lesbo scene going with the two main characters in the movie and you get one night stands in this ****load of **** of a "movie". It's BAD with a capital B!!! And FYI they dont show the one night stands in the movie It SUCKS!!!!
½ November 17, 2010
It copies the first movie so much. The plot is almost the same. Some of the scenes are the same. This one seemed more like a soft-porn movie without the porn.
½ October 30, 2010
Entertaining, but basically just a rehash of the much better original.
June 26, 2010
It?s not really a sequel, it?s more of a rehash of the original. Of course it is nowhere as good, and the acting is average at best. But, it did hold my interest, even though it was predictable. I?ve seen worse, and the score was pretty good.
June 26, 2010
48/100. It's not really a sequel, it's more of a rehash of the original. Of course it is nowhere as good, and the acting is average at best. But, it did hold my interest, even though it was predictable. I've seen worse, and the score was pretty good.
Page 1 of 4