Sinister - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sinister Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Kong Rithdee
Bangkok Post
May 10, 2016
What makes Sinister work, or at least work enough... is the fuzzy images on those 8mm film reels, an ancient relic of the olden times when what's captured on film instantly feels like the past tense, tinged with morbid fatality.
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
June 11, 2013
One of the more authentically scary horror thrillers to haunt the screen in some time, a product of smart filmmaking, intriguing premise and a great lead performance from Ethan Hawke.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2013
Highly effective, tense little fright rouser... If you're a horror fan, you won't be disappointed.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Ed Gibbs
The Sunday Age
June 2, 2013
Hawke brings a gravitas to the role of parent and home protector that is of far greater interest than the film itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
May 31, 2013
Sinister is a subtle, poetic inquisition into the hypnotic power of horrific images ... oh and it's frightening entertainment at its best.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
May 26, 2013
I especially like inventive horror concepts, or those with a bizarre sense of humour. Sinister has the former: inventiveness, which is increasingly difficult to create in a genre as enormous as horror
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
February 15, 2013
Sinister overcomes an iffy script to reel you in with one seriously creepy vibe.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
February 4, 2013
It owes more than a debt of gratitude to The Shining and The Ring, among others, but Derrickson processes the chilling influences into an eerie experience mindful of the significance of projected images watched alone in the dark.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Andy Lea
Daily Star
October 30, 2012
Hawke is utterly convincing as the driven but dodgy writer and Derrickson has great fun infecting the quivering audience with his hero's creeping paranoia.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Andrea Chase
Killer Movie Reviews
October 22, 2012
has the all too rare virtue of being a horror film with a fine gloss of originality and genuine surprise to it
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
October 19, 2012
Derrickson is a sharp stylist who knows how to meld dreadful imagery with actual ideas that make his horror films more than just exercises in goose-the-audience manipulation
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
October 19, 2012
Writer/director Scott Derrickson has a touch for using old horror movie tools to create new scares, and he also incorporates several interesting themes into Sinister.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
October 18, 2012
A most delicious kind of horror movie... gives us a nice adrenaline boost and otherwise doesn't linger.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Alexandra Cavallo
Boston Phoenix
October 18, 2012
Sinister isn't perfect, but it easily tops most of its scare-starved competition.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Bob Grimm
Tucson Weekly
October 17, 2012
I'm uh-scared, I'm uh-scared!"
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
October 15, 2012
Indebted to some welcome influences, including King ('The Shining') and Antonioni ('Blowup').
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Adam Fendelman
October 13, 2012
I never look at Rotten Tomatoes until after I publish my review. My reviews agree with the Tomatometer 77% of the time. While "Sinister" is fresh here based on 100+ reviews, it's only barely so at 63%. That's wrong. This is the best horror film of 2012.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5.0
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
October 12, 2012
Sinister is not only director Scott Derrickson's most fully realized vision but also his most personal film. And as haunted houses go, this one is beautifully noisy.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald
October 12, 2012
Decent but not extraordinary. I don't know about you but when weird noises happen in my house, when I think someone might be skulking about, I turn on the lights. Lots of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Beth Accomando
October 12, 2012
Sinister does falter but it does so early on and finishes strong so that you leave the theater with the best bits fresh in your mind and the disappointing ones starting to fade.
Page 1 of 7