Sir! No Sir! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sir! No Sir! Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
October 5, 2012
Memorable documentary on the trials and tribulations of those who protested the Vietnam war...who actually were in Vietnam. The history of the soliders who rebelled on the field and their lives afterwards. A good addition to the Vietnam canon of film.
½ December 21, 2011
Probably the best documentary on this topic I have ever seen.
½ February 12, 2011
As I watched the opening half hour of this film, I thought to myself, "How is it that I never knew about this?" A fascinating and encouraging look into the anti-war efforts of Vietnam soldiers, this movie is packed with information and stories about widespread opposition that I was never aware of.

The image of soldiers throwing their medals away in Washington, DC is a powerful one, and a testament to the courage of those willing to take the unpopular stance of opposing the government's standard line of the war being a necessary one. Vets are interviewed who suffered violence, insults, and spent time in jail for their beliefs. To be reminded that there are those who have risked and endured far, far more than myself and friends in opposing violence is very encouraging and emboldening.

Perhaps the only thing that taints the film is the continuous presence of Jane Fonda, who - while a strong voice against the war - famously accused American POWs of lying about being tortured by the Viet Cong when they were captured. The film does not examine this controversy whatsoever, and treats Fonda as just another anti-war demonstrator who happened to be a celebrity. Being an anti-torture activist, this did not sit well with me.

However, about 90% of the film did resonate very positively with me, and I highly recommend it for any peace activist who needs a bit of encouragement and for those unaware of the courage in the (surprising large) anti-Vietnam-war movement.
½ October 11, 2010
If these cowards had been in WW2, they would have been shot, dismembered, and then shot again. I only saw people that were a disgrace to the uniform. Thankfully we went to a volunteer force so only those that want to serve, serve. This collection of potheads and cry babies weren't nearly as bold or as outspoken as the director makes them out to be. Jane Fonda will forever live with the stain of her traiterous ways. Add Zeigler to the group.
September 4, 2009
A very revealing documentary about the anti-war movement that was started by our troops during the VietNam era. Although the imagery we now have is that of dirty hippies spitting on soldiers as the returned from serving overseas, this documentary goes to show that that is a far cry from the truth. There was a concerted effort amongst members in all branches of the military to protest what they were being required to do. Much of it was in the form of propaganda (underground newspapers and the like), but also outright refusal to obey orders. Some were courts-martialed for expressing a differing view, while others were even sentenced for mutiny. Some soldiers went as far as shooting their commanding officers or NCOs. The Black supremacist movement, en-vogue at the time, seized upon the disenfranchisement of Black soldiers to cause problems for "Whitey." One example is the uprising in a military jail in VietNam where White inmates and guards were attacked for days. According to the documentary, this strife inside the military caused the pull-out from VietNam and the change over to aerial bombings. As much as I cannot stand hippies, these people basically had the right idea. I wonder why we don't have this type in the military now (or is much of it not reported?).
July 31, 2009
A stirring account of the anti-war efforts within the U.S. military. It's an important addition to Vietnam war chronicles.
May 21, 2009
Really interesting documentary! Tells a side of the story you almost never hear. Most of the subjects come off as really interesting and the way the story is told holds your attention. The primary footage is great too.
August 23, 2008
interesante documental sobre el movimiento antibélico gestado al interior de ejército norteamericano durante la guerra de Vietnam.
July 21, 2008
Fantastic! I never knew there was so much to the GI anti-war movement. And, of course, the parallels to today's war are chilling.
July 14, 2008
Fantastic account of the movement that helped ended the Vietnam war.
June 20, 2008
Must see, especially if you are considering joining the U.S. military or have children or friends who may be considering joining. Explodes the myth that being pro-peace is being "against the troops."
June 14, 2008
Excellent documentary dispelling the myths of an anti-war movement made up of hippies spitting on soldiers. In fact, the GIs were heavily involved in the anti-war movement and this movie documents their resistance. An important (and overlooked) part of history.
½ June 8, 2008
Sterke fortellinger og historier som ikke bør glemmes.
½ May 28, 2008
Documentary about the anti-war movement during the Vietnam war, a salute to the GI's who had the courage to stand up and say, well, "Sir! No Sir!"

On an unrelated note, god damn was Jane Fonda cute in her prime.
½ May 19, 2008
nothing brilliant , barely average .
May 15, 2008
This movie has special meaning for me because some of my friends were there where the action was. I remember those days and I learned a lot from the movie and the GI activists involved in the resistance movement during the Viet Nam era. My then husband and I were part of the GI resistance movement in Europe.
½ April 17, 2008
An excellent documentary that brings back to light about how much the Vietnam era GIs hated the war they were in and how much they protested the war.

It also points out how collectively the media allowed the 'official' government line to take over and get into the history books.

Should be required viewing for all communication and history majors.
April 10, 2008
Yet another part of our nation's history they skipped in history class....I think the Jane Fonda part was a little too much
April 2, 2008
Sir! Not interested in this movie, Sir!
March 23, 2008
Great movie about Vietnam!
Page 1 of 4