The Sixth Sense - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sixth Sense Reviews

Page 1 of 8
March 22, 2002
Billed as a 'chilling, psychological thriller,' this movie is actually none of those things.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
It might take some kind of extrasensory perception to explain what fills The Sixth Sense's 114 minutes, because I certainly can't explain it.
January 1, 2000
I had to employ all of my usual tricks to keep from falling asleep!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
Plana en sus secuencias durante la mayor parte del tiempo
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Even with its potentially interesting supernatural bent, it's still largely schlock footage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
Gaggingly mawkish supernatural kitsch.
January 1, 2000
Too often the film gets lost in overlit opulence and the soundtrack going 'boo.'
October 10, 2012
I was not only surprised by the film's final twist, I wasn't even looking for one. I just thought I was watching a bad movie. The end doesn't quite redeem it, but it makes you think about what you've seen. That's a saving grace of some sort.
January 1, 2000
Here is a movie of long, mind-numbing, tiresome proportions and a brilliant conclusion. No one, however, should be forced to endure all the heartache just for five minutes of audacious footage.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 7, 2002
No better than any dime-store thriller collecting dust over at Blockbuster.
Full Review | Original Score: short
January 1, 2000
Devoid of terror, a palpable sense of torment, and just plain energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2000
One of the characters in this pointless movie has supernatural visions, and audience members are sharing the affliction -- unfathomably.
| Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
An eerie drama that loses most of its impact halfway through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
Shyamalan seems to have no idea how to dramatize anything.
January 1, 2000
One of the film's main problems is its pacing; it craws sluggishly along the entire picture while the audience suspensefully waits for something to happen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
If there was ever a movie that could be accused of being both too subtle and too heavy-handed at the same time, it would be The Sixth Sense.
January 1, 2000
The biggest piece of supernatural hooey since estranged wife Demi Moore's The Seventh Sign.
January 1, 2000
The problem lies with Shyamalan's plodding pacing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
It's hard for me to know whether it was the film itself or my constant view of its wires which left me unimpressed.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 8, 2002
I'd like to say that writer/director M. Night Shyamalan is a stunning new voice and talent working in Hollywood today. Unfortunately, that pronouncement will have to wait for at least one more film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Page 1 of 8