The Sixth Sense - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Sixth Sense Reviews

October 7, 2014
You leave slightly asquirm. You know it will linger. It becomes a clammy, chilly movie building toward a revelation that you cannot predict. As I say: I cannot tell you. You'd hate me if I did. I can only say, don't look now, but look sometime.
August 27, 2013
So transparent is Osment as an actor, and so rare, that the pain on his face stabs you in the heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 27, 2013
Osment's pinched, old-young face suggests an ancient's insight without an ancient's defenses -- a sensitivity so exquisitely morbid that you worry more for his emotional than physical well-being.
August 27, 2013
Willis turns in a measured and understated performance.
October 10, 2012
A delicate, emotionally attentive, but very scary ghost story.
October 10, 2012
I was not only surprised by the film's final twist, I wasn't even looking for one. I just thought I was watching a bad movie. The end doesn't quite redeem it, but it makes you think about what you've seen. That's a saving grace of some sort.
October 10, 2012
Shyamalan's script is a clever construct, but also contains a great deal of sensitivity to the plight of the "different" child.
October 10, 2012
Like Kieslowski and others, Shyamalan knows that what makes for lousy metaphysics can make for powerful metaphor, and in the end he creates a deeply, surprisingly affecting film out of a little bit of smoke and brimstone.
June 26, 2007
M. Night Shyamalan neutralizes Willis's star presence with impressive plotting that's a fine excuse for the powerful atmosphere.
April 27, 2007
An effectively understated and moodily engrossing ghost film with a surprisingly satisfying jolt at the end.
February 9, 2006
A poignant study of the searing pain caused by loss, this all-too-human horror film provokes tears as well as fears.
March 22, 2002
Billed as a 'chilling, psychological thriller,' this movie is actually none of those things.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
There's more fright in any 10 minutes of The Sixth Sense than the sensory startle effects The Haunting produces in its entire running time.
January 1, 2000
The Sixth Sense is the movie that really deserves to be called The Haunting.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Sixth Sense is scary -- and smart!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
The Sixth Sense is a ghost story and a psychological thriller. But there's something finer to it than that.
January 1, 2000
But just as scary, or at least as unsettling, is the film's presentation of human existence as an endless series of tragedies and agonies, relieved only by foolish distraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
A psychological thriller that actually thrills!
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 1, 2000
Shyamalan seems to have no idea how to dramatize anything.
January 1, 2000
It is impossible to take your eyes off Osment, who vividly conveys the hopelessness of a sensitive, intelligent child who bears burdens beyond all telling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Not only does this production contain what is probably Willis' strongest performance and a lot of other fine acting, but it is also one of the best films of the year. And it's sure to be a movie that the people who see it will want to talk about.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 1, 2000
It's a quiet, slow movie that builds its scares gradually, leading to a wallop of a surprise ending.
January 1, 2000
It's a rarity for a movie to be willing to try your patience like The Sixth Sense does and even more of one for your perseverance to be so amply rewarded.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
The Sixth Sense has a kind of calm, sneaky self-confidence that allows it to take us down a strange path.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The biggest piece of supernatural hooey since estranged wife Demi Moore's The Seventh Sign.
January 1, 2000
An unusually intelligent thriller!
January 1, 2000
Genuinely unsettling, in a way that no other film this summer has been -- and that includes The Blair Witch Project.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Chilling and new!
January 1, 2000
The Sixth Sense has wry wit and raw scares.
January 1, 2000
Too often the film gets lost in overlit opulence and the soundtrack going 'boo.'
January 1, 2000
Of the big studio films released this summer, it's hands-down the best!
January 1, 2000
The Sixth Sense might not scare you out of your wits, but it could reward them.
January 1, 2000
A terrific last-minute story twist goes a fair way toward redeeming The Sixth Sense.
January 1, 2000
I had to employ all of my usual tricks to keep from falling asleep!
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
Gaggingly mawkish supernatural kitsch.
January 1, 2000
The Sixth Sense is the kind of flawed movie that's worth sticking with.
January 1, 2000
An intense, haunting, often beautifully crafted character study and meditation on the nature of death and life after death.