Sleep Dealer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sleep Dealer Reviews

Page 1 of 40
February 25, 2016
A dystopian future that is the dream of some GOP politics in USA.
December 3, 2015
It's basically The Matrix. Memo and Neo. Come on, even I could have been more creative.
Robert B.
Super Reviewer
October 8, 2015
Sleep Dealer is underwhelming if one reads some of the reviews posted about it. The filmmaking is amateurish and some of the effects are poor. Still, the film succeeds because it shows heart and spirit, and that is a refreshing change from most Hollywood fare. The actors act as though they believe that the technology and the world is real.
March 14, 2015
I thought this was an extremely unique idea for a movie. It seemed to be made by an unexperienced filmmaker, but I wouldn't subtract too many points for that. Definitely worth seeing if you are interested in the environment or racial/immigrant issues.
January 13, 2015
Rapaz mexicano vai buscar trabalho na cidade grande operando robôs à distância que trabalham nos EUA. O meio de trabalho é uma conexão física que permite a telepresença. Com o tempo, ele perde a motivação de trabalhar e entra numa crise. Pior fica quando descobre que sua namorada está vendendo as memórias com ele para internautas conectados. O filme vê a tecnologia pelo outro lado, pelo lado daqueles que são explorados pelo capitalismo mas que resistem lutando pra viver.
½ January 11, 2015
It looks cheap at first but we eventually get used to its low quality CG graphics, poor acting and other flaws. It looks good enough though with its bright colors : made me think of The Zero Theorem but set in a future mexico as seen in Elysium. It's definitively a low budget sci-fi flick but its message touched me. Its about the flows and technology. How this powerful tool can build walls but also destroy them, separate people or connect them.
½ September 2, 2014
'Sleep Dealer' is a very apt title for this film as it will most surely deal you a long, deep, immediate and premature night of deep sleep. In simpler terms, it is boring as hell. Poorly made film ripping off ideas from 'The Matrix' and shoehorning them into a heavy handed message about illegal immigration, labor laws, refugees and government paranoia. I'm shocked that people have such positive things to say about it, because it was not good.

From a visual standpoint, the film-making is amateur at best. Over-saturated colors make everything look jaundiced and visually unappealing. PS2 CGI and effects incorporation are laughable. The direction is jarring and badly edited. Just a very poor technically executed film in pretty much every way.

The acting is another point of flat out terrible. Pena is unbelievably bad. Unflinching, stone faced, unable to compute any sort of emotion or relateability and just a total waste. What makes his horrible performance even worse is that his character is portrayed to be deep and charismatic which is the antithesis of his acting. Substitute him with a dead fish, and few would notice. In the 'positives' for him, Varela and Vargas are almost as bad, so at least he isn't alone. Ridged and off-putting performances all around.

The story has potential, but the most interesting bits are inconsequential. The world they live in is far more interesting than the characters themselves, but unfortunately this isn't focused on. Director Rivera is fixated on these uninteresting doofus characters for some reason, and completely misses out on really exploring this reality. Misses the boat entirely, and becomes a boring, preachy and unbelievably dull.

Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm not quite sure why I rated it as high as 1.5 stars. It does have some interesting ideas and an interesting idea of the future, but it is completely and offensively underutilized. All in all, a waste of potential and pretty much a total waste of time. But again, it did deal me a good nights sleep, so thumbs up to the title.
August 8, 2014
sundancenow science-fiction

The movie won the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award,[3] the Alfred P. Sloan Prizeat the 2008 Sundance Film Festival,
The H.R. Giger Award for the Best International Film at The Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival, and a special mention Amnesty International Film Prize at the 2008 Berlin Film Festival.
The film was nominated for a Breakthrough director at the Gotham Independent Film Awards 2008, and an Independent Spirit Award for Best First Feature in 2009
June 16, 2014
This is one of several recent films that deal with borders, surveillance & immigration. using the visual language of Science fiction. Now if only Dealer's acting & script were stronger they might have had been an even more effective film
June 13, 2014
Loved this film! We need more films about the real world - and issues that relate to real people. I can't understand why so many sci fi filmmakers think the world will be white, think again! It might just be that Matt Damon, as cool as he is, is NOT gonna save the day. This film is also a riveting thriller and a tender love story...and one where people can learn, grow, and change their minds...even in the face of such deep oppression. This film ultimately offers a glimmer of what liberation might look like, in a world of machines.
½ June 13, 2014
Sleep Dealer makes you think! The characters seem real. You care about them and the crucial issues they are addressing. Highly recommended.
June 11, 2014
Gorgeous film, super beautifully written and shot. Love this independent film! And the characters in it.
½ June 2, 2014
It's a deep movie that requires a lot of thinking. The ending looks like a happily ever after but we all know that one person cannot against a country, it's kinda sad but reveals the how arrogant and ignorant we are.
½ April 26, 2014
It's good see a film like this once in awhile. Love the story and the set surrounding it. God, that woman is beautiful.
October 2, 2013
Nice entry into the sci-fi genre. Political and topical, but not without rough edges. I'm curious to see a sophomore effort.
September 27, 2013
??????????, ?? ??????? ????? ?????.
August 3, 2013
The core premise is quite interesting, with a lot of subtext into the US' attitude towards immigration as seen from the other side - this is not a movie that would ever emerge from Hollywood or or a story be appreciated by a US audience - but it's decent, interesting, and gets into details intelligently and sensitively. There's a lot of American-baiting as well, if you catch it, especially when it comes to the TV programs.
The acting is good - Luis Pena and Leonor Varela are really, really good in the delivery of their characters, and the setting, environments, and characters are very, very spot-on.
The ending is where it gets let down, a little; maybe we've been spoiled by the Hollywood concept of the climax having to be the most epic ever - but this one keeps with the movie's little people, little problems, and little solutions being a microcosmic representation of a larger issue. It still feels a little forced, a little unrealistic, though.
All in a ll, a nice, subversive experience.
½ July 11, 2013
How could anyone say this is a bad movie? I loved it!!!
½ April 21, 2013
It was overall a very weak and lackluster movie.
Page 1 of 40