Sleepless in Seattle Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 24, 2020
Despite a madcap, slapstick type of comic conclusion, with no real hope of marital longevity, the film is terribly romantic.
July 9, 2020
Sleepless in Seattle finds a way to put a fresh seasoning on top of the genre.
August 14, 2019
What are we teaching the other little sons of America, when they see so few movies as humane and woman-positive as Sleepless in Seattle, and so very many that portray women as evil incarnate?
January 25, 2019
The emotional weight of the drama rests on Hanks, and you appreciate how skilfully Ephron structures the film so that the two principals are bound by song and sentiment rather than physical proximity.
January 25, 2019
Sleepless In Seattle balances romance and realism by giving its central characters two different but equally pragmatic philosophies on love.
January 25, 2019
The rest of this romantic comedy about the strange power that pulls a man and woman together... only reinforces the notion that Ephron is a filmmaker whose time has come at last, after years as a novelist, screenwriter and feminist wit.
January 25, 2019
"Sleepless in Seattle" (citywide), a real charmer, is a romantic comedy about an ultimate long-distance relationship. Emphasize "romantic." Emphasize "comedy." It delivers both.
January 24, 2019
For nearly two hours, Ephron keeps her marvellous stars apart, a potentially dangerous tactic that works superbly.
September 16, 2018
Substantially better, funnier, smarter, and more impeccably-controlled than almost everything that came in its wake.
June 27, 2018
While I have returned to watch my favourite moments play out again and again, I am always rewarded by the subtlety and beauty in the scenes I don't remember.
March 28, 2018
...a decent drama that never entirely lives up to its place as a classic romcom...
February 13, 2014
A movie to which director and co-writer Nora Ephron brought her terrific flair, wit and nous, although she propagates the terrifying fallacy that a widower makes a wonderful romantic catch.
January 1, 2011
A fairy tale that even teens can enjoy.
February 2, 2009
A romantic treat.
February 8, 2007
Like most of Ephron's work, this one is shallow and contrived, but it stars two of America's most likable stars, Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks.
August 26, 2006
It's easily the hippest, frankest and funniest date movie around.
March 31, 2006
Sure it's contrived, but what a great romantic weeper.
February 9, 2006
The schmaltzy soundtrack is overdone, but cameraman Sven Nykvist wraps it all up in an appropriately warm glow.
August 8, 2004
[T]he epitome of the modern romantic comedy...
June 4, 2004
Page 1 of 3