Sleepwalk With Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sleepwalk With Me Reviews

Page 4 of 6
August 31, 2012
As an off-beat movie that depends on his conversational delivery, Sleepwalk with Me manages to avoid many of the standard romantic comedy pratfalls.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
August 31, 2012
Sleepwalk With Me is a remarkably assured directorial debut for comedian and storyteller Mike Birbiglia, based on a stage monologue about his journey of self-discovery as a performer and the challenge of dealing with a rare sleep disorder.
August 31, 2012
This sharp romantic comedy began as a one-man show, and you can tell: the hero's voice-over narration wraps around the entire movie, and the scenes are mainly verbal.
August 31, 2012
Sleepwalk With Me is never anything less than awfully likable. But I so wanted it to be more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 31, 2012
Funny and fresh- leading man/director/writer Mike Birbiglia is one to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 31, 2012
"Sleepwalk With Me's" transition from stage to screen primarily works because Birbiglia continues to carry the weight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 31, 2012
It all adds up to a fine, funny exercise in disheveled self-deprecation: a self-portrait of a guy who can't control a major portion of his life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 31, 2012
Birbiglia proves to be as engaging a presence on the screen as he has been all these years onstage and over the radio waves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2012
The real find, above all else, is Mike Birbiglia himself. He's as sure of a natural in front of the camera as he is behind it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 30, 2012
The semi-autobiographical tale is appealingly low-key and alternately funny and melancholy, informed by Birbiglia's casual delivery.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 30, 2012
Is there reason to be concerned that so much popular culture is about young men not wanting to become adults? Probably. And yet "Sleepwalk With Me" makes the subject palatable, funny and maybe even touching.
August 30, 2012
"Sleepwalk With Me" traps Birbiglia inside his own head. He desperately needs a movie or cable series that wakes him up and sets his material loose on the outside world.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 30, 2012
"Sleepwalk With Me" is the perfect movie for fans of "The Daily Show" who actually stick around for the second-half interview.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2012
It is a likable, warm film that brings a welcome reassurance: Even if you fail spectacularly as a comedian or as a human being, it really can turn out OK in the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2012
I like this movie. More important, I like Mike Birbiglia in it. Whether he has a future in stand-up I cannot say, but he has a future as a monologist and actor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 30, 2012
Familiar problems with a funny, likable spin, much like Birbiglia's easygoing, anecdote-filled comedy style.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 26, 2012
For all the first-film jitters ... Sleepwalk with Me is a canny and heartwarming comedy that rarely sells the audience short.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
August 25, 2012
...a very personal story from actor-turned-filmmaker Birbiglia and gives an honest account of Matt's two very different lives...
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 25, 2012
The film may not be as laugh out loud funny as one would expect from a guy who makes his living telling jokes, but Mike Birbiglia has made an insightful film on how he got there.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 24, 2012
It's far too similar to every other star-is-born sob story the entertainment industry churns out with ease.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 4 of 6