Sleepwalk With Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sleepwalk With Me Reviews

November 8, 2013
This self-deprecating comedy would make both Larry David and Louis C.K. proud,
January 8, 2013
From start to finish, his character, called Matt Pandamiglio, is all by his lonesome -- reaching out of the fog. He's a funny fog person.
January 8, 2013
The film acts as both a diary of a sidewinding comic stylist finding his style, almost by accident, and a reminder to all post-collegiate boyfriends and girlfriends that "OK" probably isn't good enough for either party.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 14, 2012
This is a movie for anyone who's ever been unsure, and surely that's everyone.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 13, 2012
Notwithstanding its storytelling stumbles, "Sleepwalk With Me" points in a positive direction for this likable comedian's career.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 13, 2012
A smart, neurotic slice-of-life comedy about a stand-up comic with confidence issues, commitment issues, and career issues.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 13, 2012
Birbiglia's pleasingly nasal delivery and agreeable presence holds it together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 31, 2012
I liked Sleepwalk With Me-just not nearly as much as I would've liked to have liked it.
August 31, 2012
This sharp romantic comedy began as a one-man show, and you can tell: the hero's voice-over narration wraps around the entire movie, and the scenes are mainly verbal.
August 31, 2012
"Sleepwalk With Me's" transition from stage to screen primarily works because Birbiglia continues to carry the weight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 31, 2012
It all adds up to a fine, funny exercise in disheveled self-deprecation: a self-portrait of a guy who can't control a major portion of his life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 31, 2012
Birbiglia proves to be as engaging a presence on the screen as he has been all these years onstage and over the radio waves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2012
The semi-autobiographical tale is appealingly low-key and alternately funny and melancholy, informed by Birbiglia's casual delivery.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 30, 2012
Is there reason to be concerned that so much popular culture is about young men not wanting to become adults? Probably. And yet "Sleepwalk With Me" makes the subject palatable, funny and maybe even touching.
August 30, 2012
"Sleepwalk With Me" traps Birbiglia inside his own head. He desperately needs a movie or cable series that wakes him up and sets his material loose on the outside world.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 30, 2012
"Sleepwalk With Me" is the perfect movie for fans of "The Daily Show" who actually stick around for the second-half interview.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 30, 2012
It is a likable, warm film that brings a welcome reassurance: Even if you fail spectacularly as a comedian or as a human being, it really can turn out OK in the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 30, 2012
I like this movie. More important, I like Mike Birbiglia in it. Whether he has a future in stand-up I cannot say, but he has a future as a monologist and actor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 24, 2012
Sleepwalk is oddly soothing, like a cup of camomile tea before bedtime.
August 24, 2012
A thoughtful adaptation of Birbiglia's hit one-man, off-Broadway show.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 23, 2012
More than just a glorified stand-up act.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 23, 2012
When it comes to mining a medical malady for laughs across multiple platforms, standup comic Mike Birbiglia is a master.
August 23, 2012
Matt's learning curve is probably supposed to be entertaining, or endearing, or something, but mostly it just sends the movie lurching into inertia.
August 23, 2012
Birbiglia's gift, really, is one of reassurance. It's nice to know that we can fail spectacularly and still be okay.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 22, 2012
Feats of raconteur storytelling are always tricky to translate into something effective and fluid enough to be movieworthy. But Sleepwalk With Me sticks the landing.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 22, 2012
Sleepwalk holds together as a story that, like a particularly good episode of This American Life, is both laugh-out-loud funny and somewhat melancholic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 21, 2012
Sleepwalk with Me embraces its toughness and emerges with a sharp comment about evasion.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2012
[Rides] a weird tonal line, maybe aiming to split the difference between comedy and terror but coming off as afraid to really go for it on either.
August 20, 2012
The crux of the story offers sharp practical wisdom in the modernist vein, regarding the comedian's confrontation with the danger and the challenge of self-revelation, but it's served up too smoothly and sweetly.
January 31, 2012
Crowd-pleasing comedy from stand-up Mike Birbiglia.
January 30, 2012
This storytelling isn't particularly intriguing, but Birbiglia's charisma carries them with a personable brand of self-deprecation.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 26, 2012
An endearing indie feature about the day-to-day indecisions and nocturnal perambulations of a commitment-phobic New Yorker.
January 25, 2012
Sleepwalk With Me is as charming as it is winningly modest, but it's so incredibly slight a stiff wind would knock it into a different hemisphere.
Full Review | Original Score: B