Small Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Small Soldiers Reviews

September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 12, 2002
...this smells like a script slapped together around a toy-product launch.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 14, 2001
Though it starts promisingly, the picture ends as a standoff between the affection Dante and company bring to the project and its increasingly frenetic and tiresome emphasis on what special effects can make its little people do.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
As with many films in which special effects are the real stars, the technology here commands more respect and interest than the material otherwise warrants.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
I can't think of a Hollywood entertainment I've enjoyed as much all year, and both audiences I saw the movie with seemed delighted as well.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
Fortunately, it's possible to ignore the morals entirely and simply enjoy the filmmakers' skill at creating carefully contained mayhem in a microcosm.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
This live-action, animated feature has all the charm of the entirely animated Toy Story plus an audacity all of its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
...wildly entertaining...
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
What bothered me most about Small Soldiers is that it didn't tell me where to stand--what attitude to adopt.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
As absurd as the premise might seem, Small Soldiers works for two primary reasons: the visual effects ... are entirely convincing and the script ... never takes its tongue out of its cheek.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 10, 1998
Full Review | Original Score: C+