Smokey and the Bandit II - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Smokey and the Bandit II Reviews

Page 1 of 28
½ August 23, 2016
Has its fun moments. The Elephants slow things down a bit. Charming and goofy.
May 27, 2016
They took all the fun from the first one and added drama, an elephant, a gynecologist, and an unresolved ending. Sumbitch...
October 16, 2015
This sequel seemed to lack any of the camaraderie and pace-y feeling of the original movie, settling for hack-y jokes instead, and I was rather let down from start to finish.

Pass.
September 6, 2015
WOW.......WOW......WOW.....WOW.....WOW......JUST SEEN THIS MOVIE 4 THE 1ST TIME N THINK THAT THIS IS SUCH AN ENJOYABLE MOVIE 2 WATCH....ITS GOT A GOOD CAST OF ACTORS/ACTRESSESS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......I think that burt Reynolds, jerry reed (.R.I.P.), Jackie gleason (.R.I.P.), sally field, dom deluise (.R.I.P.), play good roles/parts throughout this movie......sure this is not as good as the 1st movie but this is still such an enjoyable sequel movie 2 watch.......I think that pat mccormick (.R.I.P.), was great throughout this movie as Big Enos Burdette throughout this movie......WARNING YOU HAVE GOT TO WATCH THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE AS SOMETHING HAPPENS AT THE END OF THE CREDITS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.......




I think that the cameos throughout this movie were really enjoyable throughout this movie as they were::


Phil Balsley Himself (a member of The Statler Brothers)
Lew DeWitt Himself (a member of The Statler Brothers) (.R.I.P.),
Don Reid Himself (a member of The Statler Brothers)
Harold Reid Himself (a member of The Statler Brothers)
Joe Greene Himself (as "Mean Joe" Greene)
Mel Tillis Fairground Owner
Joe Klecko Himself
Don Williams Himself
Terry Bradshaw Himself


Jackie Gleason played Sheriff Buford T. Justice, Gaylord Justice and Reginald Van Justice. For his roles as Sheriff Buford T. Justice and Reginald Van Justice he is credited as Mr. Jackie Gleason, but for his role as Gaylord he is credited as Ms. Jackie Gleason.

Burt Reynolds and Dom DeLuise would star together again in The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, The Cannonball Run, Cannonball Run II, and (in voice only) Don Bluth's All Dogs Go to Heaven. As he did in the first movie, Reynolds breaks the fourth wall after being reunited with Frog, by addressing the camera and saying, "She still loves me."





Many of the movie's scenes take place in northern Palm Beach County, especially at the Burt Reynolds' ranch in Jupiter, FL.

Although the Bandit again sticks to a Pontiac Trans Am, this time a 1980 Turbo model with 5 color decals unlike 1981's single color decals, Snowman switches to a 1980 GMC General, silver with blue trim with the same mural on the trailer as on the original film. This "new rig" suggests that the pair were successful in the "double or nothing" wager offered by the Burdettes at the end of the first film where they were persuaded to drive from Atlanta to Boston and back in 18 hours to buy clam chowder.

A world-record automobile jump was captured on film during the "roundup sequence", when stuntman Buddy Joe Hooker jumped a 1974 Dodge Monaco over 150 feet. Hooker suffered compressed vertebra as a result of a hard landing.

The roundup sequence in the desert shows many new Pontiac Le Mans sedans decorated as police cars being destroyed. The cars were originally ordered by a car rental agency in Phoenix, who refused delivery when they discovered the cars were not equipped with air conditioning. Pontiac took the cars back and eventually gave them to the producers to be used in the film.

Smokey and the Bandit II was filmed at the same time as The Cannonball Run, in which Burt Reynolds and Dom DeLuise also starred. Football player Joe Klecko also appears in both films.




The film received negative reviews from critics who felt that the original was better. It currently has a "Rotten" rating of 20% on Rotten Tomatoes. Roger Ebert gave it one star and stated that there was "[in 1980] no need for this movie. That's true of most sequels, but it's especially true of 'Smokey and the Bandit II,' which is basically just the original movie done again, not as well ... how can I say it's lazy when it has 50 trucks doing stunts in it? Because it takes a lot less thought to fill up a movie with stunts than to create a comedy that's genuinely funny." It was a mild success, earning $66,132,626 at the box office.Nevertheless, it inspired a third film where Reynolds appeared only in a cameo appearance before the end credits, Field had no involvement whatsoever, and Gleason practically filled the film.




man this is such an enjoyable sequel movie 2 watch, sure its not as good as the 1st movie but it is such an enjoyable movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie....
½ August 27, 2015
Smokey and the Bandit II is a follow up adventure movie that reunites Burt Reynolds as the Bandit and his good old bud Cledus better known as "Snowman". We also see the return of the bride to be in the first movie as well a bride again, but the bandit comes a calling and off she goes leaving the same man as in the first film, Junior Justice. With Junior Justice you have good old Jackie Gleason as Sheriff Buford T.Justice alongside him, and yet again for another time he is after the bandit, this time trying to deliver an elephant (Ran out of ideas quickly me thinks).

It all plays out rather fast paced which is both it's biggest positive but also negative, the story is fairly frantic and not well thought out in parts and just a little bit shaky. It's good old fun don't get me wrong but the laughter isn't flowing and some of the things that happen are just downright stupid, by the end you feel almost like doing something dumb. The stunts are the best thing in the story and I won't doubt the movie on it's skill of keeping you engaged, but that doesn't mean it is good.

Hal Needham directs OK but never well enough to save this from being average, his touch is both too cringe but also dampens some of the moments that could have had laughs. The writing is not well done and possibly one of the worst things about this, it just makes the story as mentioned more stupid and contains moments and characters that are just needlessly un-needed. What the film really needed to be even OK was just to have an injection of good writing and some more clinically funny bits to be the kind of alright movie I felt the first one was.

Reynolds comes back not as good as before but still has a little bit of his style that he gives Bo Darville aka the Bandit and he gives a performance that I felt was good albeit not as funny as he was in the first. Jackie Gleason as the Sheriff is for me the funniest person in this in fact if anything he gets funnier in this movie than previous, the jokes are well suited to him and the funny relationship with his son is at times fun to see. Sally Field is the bride to be yet again who comes to the aid of the bandit and the snowman and she brings plain acting, I won't criticise her so harshly but she is far from OK, makes her scenes stale and also for some reason disappears for most of the second half of the movie then returns out of nowhere.

I think all in all this was fun-ish, but not fun enough for me to kind of like it; it was more for me a kind of dislike and disappointing actually. That said I know for a fact fans of the first will enjoy this as it basically lifts off from where the first finished in a sort of way, it tries too hard to remake what made the first a smash and does create a so-so piece. So overall I wouldn't really recommend it but then again I wouldn't say don't try it, just don't watch it if your looking for a bit more "smart" entertainment, but sure if you want a quick watch that doesn't require much thought then this is perfect, but still mediocre.
Super Reviewer
½ June 27, 2015
Hal Needham is back with Reynolds and all the gang for another dose of pedal to the metal, tarmac burning, high octane, highway speeding...I think. This time the movie has gone for a more all out comedy slapstick route, more along the lines of Needham's other movie 'The Cannonball Run', or dare I say, Disney's Herbie franchise.

Once again the plot revolves around the Bandit and his partner the Snowman, transporting a cargo across the country as quickly as possible. This time its from Miami to Dallas, once again the challenge is set by Big Enos, once again there is a big monetary reward and lastly the cargo is an elephant (only thing that is different). Here lies the problem with this movie, its exactly the same shit as the first movie, exactly!! Once again the duo team up with Sally Field's character Frog, who has once again left Junior Justice at the altar, which naturally means Sheriff Buford T. Justice is back on their trail...again. The entire premise of the first movie is basically rebooted or remade here, accept the cargo is an elephant.

I really couldn't believe my eyes as I was watching this (first time viewing), the plot simply retreads everything. When we find the Bandit he has become a drunk which adds a new dimension to the character, but that is quickly forgotten as the plot recaptures the same old vibe, but not in a good way. Frog is once again lured away from getting married to Junior, which begs the question why on earth is she still even wanting to marry this guy! I thought she was over him in the first movie. The fact that this leads to Buford Justice chasing the Bandit and co across the country yet again feels really really rehashed and boring.

This movie seriously takes a nose dive in terms of dignity, talk about selling out and milking your original idea. The whole project just feels like its patting itself on the back whilst slapping product advertisement stickers all over itself. I mean lets look at the Bandits attire in this one, he's wearing a shiny red jacket with the words 'Bandit' and 'Trans Am' down the sleeves and across the back. Even the car has 'Bandit' on its paintwork which makes me wonder why really, it that really necessary? is the Bandit a product within this movies universe? Plus how the hell did they manage to afford a Pontiac Trans Am by chopping in that crappy old car?

As the story unfolds more and more ridiculous things happen which make no sense and have clearly been chucked in to be funny, apparently. Enter Dom Deluise, a Needham regular, a regular movie partner of Reynolds and a regular slapstick comedian of the time. If you ever needed your movie to be bolstered with in your face comedy then Deluise was your man, and sure enough he is on good form here as expected. The only problem is his character has obviously been jammed in just to extract the best from Deluise and nothing more, the character is a throwaway job. The fact the Bandit and co take him along on their adventure makes no sense either because they could of dropped him off anywhere, he's obviously there to salvage the movie.

Now lets talk about the cargo, the elephant. Yes that's right, they stuff a living creature into the trailer of a big rig, no light, no food, no water and most importantly no air! Couldn't help but wonder if this would have been allowed these days, of course its not real but we do actually see the animal climb into the trailer. The point is its the whole idea of doing it, and the way the characters think its perfectly OK, although admittedly they do look after the animal much better later on. Gotta ask why a Republican party would need an elephant, yeah sure its your mascot but you really need a real one?!

The whole thing is so drab, just watching Buford chase the Bandit all over again, doing the same spiel but without any grown-up edge to it. Everything is so childish, the chases are almost like Benny Hill sequences, the carnage is tame and has this cartoon-esque quality to it, there is never any real threat or danger etc...because its all so light-hearted. In the first movie it felt relatively realistic, like it could happen, here its all over the top and off the wall, which in-turn takes away any proper enjoyment. Perfect example being the big money sequence where the Snowman and all his big rig buddies take on an entire squadron of smokies. Now this is the sequence which I refer to as (Disney's) 'The Love Bug' sequence, this is what I meant at the start of this review. The whole thing is pretty cringeworthy and virtually destroys any self respect this movie had.

I was seriously disappointed with this sequel, never knew it was such a rehash...or reboot basically! Its exactly the same as the first movie with minor alterations, watered and dumbed down incredibly. There isn't even any car or truck porn to get excited about, they have completely jettisoned that idea leaving only the famous black Trans Am. I can't count all the big rigs in the Love Bug sequence simply because it was so crap and infantile, clearly not about the trucks. Do yourself a favour and don't bother with this shockingly woeful attempt at a sequel.
½ June 19, 2015
What were they thinking....
½ April 9, 2015
The story and flow of this movie are lacking but Sheriff Buford T Justice is worth the price of admission.
½ February 6, 2015
An okay continuance to the first movie, but gets sorta old after the first hour or so...
October 6, 2014
Burt and friends return for a pay day in this unnecessary sequel. Governor hopeful hires the Bandit to deliver an elephant from Florida to Texas pursued once again by Sherriff Buford T Justice. It's about what you would expect minus a lot of the fun from the original. Notable guests include the Statler Brothers, Terry Bradshaw, Mean Joe Greene and Joe Klecko.
½ August 18, 2014
Not as good as the first one.
½ August 11, 2014
(First and only viewing - 10/29/2008)
July 22, 2014
The definition of a sequel not knowing what to do with itself
½ May 21, 2014
a not really needed extra
August 13, 2013
This the #1 movie i ever seen
½ August 10, 2013
The problem with Smokey and the Bandit II is that it's more childish and tries to milk the humour from the last one, succeeding only once in a while. It's less about the car chases now which was what made Smokey and the Bandit so successful.
Also, Jackie Gleason still has moments but not enough of them due to a weak script. So in the end, Smokey and the Bandit 2 may appeal to kids but not many others.
August 4, 2013
This movie started out wildly depressing. Then it abruptly turned into the most confusing and cheesy Looney Tunes episode the world has ever experienced. But I still enjoyed Jerry Reed. And elephants are cute.
August 4, 2013
This movie started out wildly depressing. Then it abruptly turned into the most confusing and cheesy Looney Tunes episode the world has ever experienced. But I still enjoyed Jerry Reed. And elephants are cute.
August 4, 2013
This movie started out wildly depressing. Then it abruptly turned into the most confusing and cheesy Looney Tunes episode the world has ever experienced. But I still enjoyed Jerry Reed. And elephants are cute.
Page 1 of 28