Snake and Crane Arts of Shaolin (She hao ba bu) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Snake and Crane Arts of Shaolin (She hao ba bu) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
March 6, 2014
The young warrior Hsu Yiu Fong (Jackie Chan) has been entrusted with the book of the "Art of the Snake and Crane," after the mysterious disappearance of the eight Shaolin Masters who had written it. He must fight off numerous clans who are all attempting to steal the book from him, to find out the true reason for the disappearance of the Shaolin Masters.

also stars Nora Miao, Jeong-Nam Kim, Yung-kuo Li, Ya Ying Liu, Hsin Yi Chen, Kang Chin, Chun Cho, Han Chang Hu, Kuan-hsien Huang, Sang-ho Ju, Kang Jin, Ki Bum Kim , Wang Kuk Kim and Min-Lang Li.

directed by Chi-Hwa Chen.
August 17, 2013
Great movie for True Jackie Chan fans or Even fans of Kung Fu movies. I would put this movie in one of the top five of Jackie's best movies, The fight scenes are amazing and well choreographed. And yes there is tons of them and the story is very interesting and will keep you entertained throughout the film. Yes there is some slap stick comedy in it but it is very well thought out and funny. Had me laughing a couple times. So if your looking for a cool movie to watch, I would recommend this for anyone and any Jackie Chan fans out there.
January 1, 2013
Worst Jackie Chan movie I've ever seen, yet it's supposed to be one of his best examples of Kung-Fu?! Ok, so the martial arts are fast paced and impressive at first glance but it's all too obviously staged to make Chan look super human. One look at his aggressors and their attacking moves are nothing short of comical and pathetic. There's a vague plot surrounding clan leaders all attempting to get their hands on a secret book which Chan holds, a book that details how to master the art of the powerful 'Snake & Crane' martial arts technique, which will ultimately make them the most powerful clan in the land. As the battles keep coming, and heads start to roll, the fighters soon start to realise that rather than pit themselves against one another, they should be teaming up to destroy the clan that murdered the 8 creators of the Snake & Crane book in the first place. It's not pitted as a comedy, but should be in my eyes as some of the dubbing is horrendous and unnecessarily high pitched. There's no change in tempo, no variation, no real excitement, and ultimately not enough to make it worthwhile watching. There's a lot of hand and leg waving, and lots of Chinese "hi-yaaaaa's", but sometimes it's just all too quick and a struggle to understand what exactly is going on. When this goes on for the full duration, it's a major problem!!!
½ November 25, 2012
By the late '70s Lo Wei had all but given up on molding former stuntman Jackie Chan into the hotheaded filmmaker's new cash cow and began to farm the pigeonholed martial artist out to other directors. For "Snake and Crane Arts of Shaolin" Chen Chi Hwa simply allowed Jackie Chan to be Jackie Chan; a gratuity repeatedly denied by Lo in their preceding collaborations that usually found Chan cast under duress as a quasi-Bruce Lee. And while this is Jackie Chan as we know him today in his infancy the net result is a small step in the right direction.
July 14, 2012
Plot:Good(3/5),
S-Fx:No,
Emotional pull:No
½ June 29, 2012
The literal non-stop action, intensely impressive fight scenes, and mostly interesting story are sadly hindered by typical 70s Hong Kong Kung Fu cheesiness, bad acting, and a messy plot. Of course, if you're the type who enjoys these films for these reasons, there's nothing but love for Snake and Crane Arts of Shaolin.
½ May 27, 2012
Together with the Project As, my favourite Jackie Chan!
½ October 24, 2011
One of the best old school film from Jackie Chan. Earliest films where he found own style and stopped being Bruce Lee and it was really good choice. Fight scenes were more choreogaphy but "the movie magic" is powerful. The plot is simple but some how i liked the story. Sure it is slapstick martial arts film but i doesn`t harm the film and there are lots of drama elements.
½ December 6, 2010
Wonderful and best old school kung fu movie, period.
Never a dull moment in this film with the action happening right from the beginning. The fight sequences are probably the best I have ever seen - and I've seen a fair few! Jackie Chan is completely convincing as a kung fu master, he is incredible.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ December 5, 2010
Wonderful and best old school kung fu movie, period.
Never a dull moment in this film with the action happening right from the beginning. The fight sequences are probably the best I have ever seen - and I've seen a fair few! Jackie Chan is completely convincing as a kung fu master, he is incredible.
½ September 12, 2010
Non Stop Peleas Peleas Peleas. Estilo Clasico, good stuff from pre-fame jackie
August 2, 2010
classic underrated Jackie Chan movie, liked this way better than Young Master & Snake in the Eagles shadow
½ February 7, 2010
Best Kung-Fu flick of all time!!!
December 7, 2009
This movie has non-stop martial arts action! Jackie Chan has in his possession a rare book which contains powers or something. He defends against anyone trying to get it with his deadly snake & crane arts of shaolin. Different clans and parties opt to get it, and Chan is looking for a man with a shoulder scar to seek revenge.

A climactic battle sees the protagonist versus the big badguy and some hired master spear specialists. This awesome fight scene rivals any good fight scene from other martial arts movies, and is one of Chan's best.
½ April 27, 2009
Watchable (thanks to its all right choreography) but highly forgetable early Jackie Chan/Lo Wei collaboration.
November 29, 2008
nyee.. snake and crane arts of shaolin.
August 1, 2008
One of the better old Jackie Chan movies with great fighting and lots of humor. Enjoyable even though it is so old.
½ July 15, 2008
All JC-movies rated here.
June 2, 2008
This Kung Fu film has some really good ingredients. The thing that doesn't quite come through for it are the production values. The action sequences, the plot, the characters, the settings are all interesting and worth filming, but the actual cinematography and audio quality are quite poor, and so I found it unusually difficult to watch.

If you can put these issues aside, the film is great for it's time. Jackie Chan really begins to show his immense talents for what is probably the first respectable time. His acrobatics are great, as are the Snake & Crane styles he employs further on in the film.

Interestingly, his character is a little bit cocky, and his body language is a little unusual for him, as if he was told to act a little more American or something. Also, his back-hand strikes seem a little odd and over-used. One of the other great things is the appearance of all the different clans in the film. Th Black Dragons, the Flying Tigers etc really add some colour and interesting rivalry - not to mention the opportunities for various back-stabbings and double-dealings.

I would give everything in this movie an A, but the production values a C.
½ March 26, 2008
This is a classic. SNAKE! in Eagles Shadow!!!
Page 1 of 4