Snow Angels - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Snow Angels Reviews

Page 1 of 6
April 24, 2008
Snow Angels, especially in its overwrought second half, merely wallows in unearned sadness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 24, 2008
It's a movie that keeps its distance from the characters, so much that we can shudder at what we fear is to come but aren't really allowed to mourn the innocent trapped in this downward spiral.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 20, 2008
Director David Gordon Green gives us glimpses into the lives of the characters populating his canvas but there's a feeling that he's only scratching the surfaces of stories that have deeper undercurrents.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 27, 2009
Frequently perched between the poetic and the twee, Green has been bitten by the Whimsy Bug
March 6, 2008
There are about two or three different films fighting for control of the screen during David Gordon Green's powerful but flawed Snow Angels
| Original Score: 3/5
March 7, 2008
Flails about in search of poetry.
March 4, 2008
I just don't know anyone that I could recommend this sober film to go see. Yes, Rockwell is impressive, but it's in a role I would rather forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 8, 2008
It feels sort of like a poor man's version of American Beauty, stripped of all the good parts and devoted only to a low-budget wallowing in misery that will leave you shell-shocked and depressed on your way out of the theater.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
June 1, 2008
Could they have made more of a slow, dull and boring film?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 7, 2008
Despite some foreshadowing in the opening scene, the film's change of key in the second half feels like a betrayal.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 14, 2008
The plot becomes disjointed in the second half and suffers from tone changes. Still, the performances are compelling enough to make Snow Angels worth seeing.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 6, 2008
...in the end the movie feels like tragedy propped up as art with overworked art direction and misdirected male actors.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 13, 2008
...the film's positive attributes were for me not quite enough to make up for the movie's unrelentingly grim tone.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 7, 2008
For a film full of murder, jealousy and fatalism, Snow Angels feels curiously small and anecdotal, and its impact diminishes as it nears its terrible conclusion.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 21, 2008
Enough with these meek, banal exercises, David Gordon Green. Hit me with the sledgehammer in your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 21, 2008
So do the final 15 minutes negate the power of all that's gone before? Unfortunately, yes. Unless, that is, you're in the mood to embrace awfulness. In which case, rock on.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
March 26, 2008
There are no joyous moments to balance the heavy-handed dose of everyday reality some people are forced to endure.
Full Review
March 26, 2008
The movie entertains, albeit not in a way that will induce you to tell all your friends.
Full Review
March 6, 2008
Lacks distinctiveness that would lift it above middle-of-the-road domestic drama.
| Original Score: 2/5
March 3, 2008
Green doesn't seem to be charting a recognizable world, only the contours of his own mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 6