The Snow Creature - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Snow Creature Reviews

Page 1 of 1
April 5, 2016
This is all of the evidence that you need that heredity is not as important as environment. I have now watched a few movies by both W. Lee Wilder and his younger brother, Billy Wilder, and there is really no comparison possible. It is as if the milkman or the mailman was responsible for one of their births, rather than them both having the same biological father.

Here, in 'The Snow Creature', we have at several different times and places in the film the EXACT SAME shots of the yeti lurching forward and retreating. There is nothing even remotely approaching the buildup of suspense, or plot credibility. Yes, lesser budgets meant that W. Lee had to work with far lesser talent, both in terms of cast and crew, than his legendary, award-winning sibling. Also, depending on scripts from his son was definitely a step down from the likes of I.A.L. Diamond, Billy's long-time very gifted collaborator. Yet other no-budget directors did great work--there is no credible excuse. And if you're interested, the film is a fun WTF watch--just don't have any preconceptions of filmic brilliance, or even credibility, from this portion of the Wilder family. Billy was estranged from his older brother and considered him 'a dull son of a bitch'. If any of the films I have seen of W. Lee are to be considered 'Exhibit A', then Billy was absolutely and sadly correct in this assertion.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
February 24, 2014
A botanist on an expedition in the Himalayas gets sidetracked into capturing a Yeti, then flies him back to Los Angeles where the creature quickly escapes. Dull, by-the-book creature-feature.
½ March 7, 2013
72%

"The whole thing sounds fantastic."-Peter Wells (Leslie Denison)

Could you blast Bigfoot or a Yeti who just wants to get back home to his family?
½ December 7, 2012
Decent 50's monster movie, but the monster is rather disappointing. You never get too good of a look at the Yeti, and most of the time it just looks like a man in a thick jacket. The storyline is slow and rather dull and the acting isn't top notch. It's a fun little watch for a late night b-movie marathon.
September 9, 2012
there is A LOT of walking around in this movie. And white people are really bossy to the sherpas. The Yeti is kinda lame and really only socks a couple jerks. Otherwise, he just wants a wife. Or maybe be doesn't it is hard to figure out much. The yeti is always backing away into shadows. By the time the whites are chasing the Yeti through the storm sewers, the movie has lost all its will to live. Just like the Yeti.
sanjurosamurai
Super Reviewer
½ June 23, 2012
i loved that they brought this film through three very different environments, mountains, city, and sewer, but the shots locations were too noticeably recycled and the script too lazy. overall a decent short watch for a night when youre looking for something goofy.
½ July 8, 2011
The Snow Creature, marks the beginning of the Yeti/Bigfoot genera, or rather horror subgenera. To my knowledge it is the first time the beast is presented on celluloid. The director, W. Lee Wilder (Phantom from Space) inadvertently set a trend or more likely a curse on all future Bigfoot themed films. That's right, from here on, Bigfoot movies head into a long succession of "B" quality.

The Snow Creature borrows story elements from King Kong. A beast is captured, taken to the city, escapes and causes mayhem, blah blah blah, you get the idea. The plot isn't the only thing Wilder decided to recycle. There is a few seconds of footage that is used and reused to the point of becoming a joke. It's a creepy shot of the Yeti appearing out of the darkness. Its features are barely lit and heavily contrasted against the negative space behind him. The shot is then reversed and the Yeti returns into the darkness. Sometimes we'll see this same footage repeated within an interval of just a few seconds. Once or twice would have been fine in separate scenes, but 20+ times is ridiculous. Obviously, this was the scariest image they had to work with and needed to use it to build suspense in key moments. It's either lazy filmmaking or Wilder exceeded his budget and couldn't get the shots needed to complete these scenes.

In all, it was an okay B-movie with one cool but annoyingly repetitive Yeti shot. I only wish I could watch it in a better resolution.
½ August 29, 2010
Yeti Horror!

An expedition of two americans, one racist botanist and one alcoholic (The doctor brings 12 bottles of scotch for personal use on a 7 day course) and 10 native sherpas set out to collect moss on a himalayan mountain.

Things were diffrent in 1954, the two americans comment on the sherpas in the line of animals. "The're like human mules" is one example.

The story changes however when the english speaking sherpa gets his wife abducted by a furry big Yeti-like guy and takes control of the group and changes the project to a Yeti-hunt.

The Americans want nothing to do with it and tries to rebel and go back to sample plants and it's not until they make out the prosper of the idea to actually catch one alive and bring it back to the states as they make themselves useful in the hunt.

They find the Yeti and without any remorse they kill the Yetis female compaion and their Yeti child. Then they drug the Yeti and bring him to Los Angeles where he of course gets free and brings havoc to the city.

Biological horrordrama mostly (even the ones from the 50's) brings the story to a logical point in which it reflects over mankind and its behavoiur to nature, not in this one really. Yetis are evil and should just be killed or possible put in a Zoo. A sad racist movie, but still interesting.
½ July 27, 2009
As a purveyor and supporter of cinematic kitsch, I was really looking forward to Snow Creature. I'd never seen the film and had high hopes that it was going to fall into the "so bad, it's good" category. Imagine my dismay when the film showed enough technical savvy, competent writing, and acting talent to keep it from being hysterically bad. Yes, it's mundane and forgettable, but there's nothing inherently funny about that, now is there?
June 28, 2009
The Snow Creature tiene el merito de ser la primer pelicula en introducir al personaje del YETI al mundo del cine. El resultado de este film de acotado presupuesto es bastante bueno, al menos en su primera mitad, bastante bien llevado por el terceto protagonico (Con actuaciones muy a la epoca) pseudo precursores de Indiana Jones,y una narracion no convencional intentando simular un falso documental, sin embargo se va deteriorando a medida que la pelicula avanza, y conocemos a un bastante poco agraciado YETI (Se podrian haber esmerado mas en su construccion) para terminar desvirtuandose casi como una copia de King Kong de bajo presupuesto.
January 27, 2009
This movie is so hilariously bad, I laughed til I cried.
½ November 17, 2008
Hur många gånger användes samma klipp på snömannen som kliver ut ur skuggorna i kloakerna? Jag tappade räkningen efter 25...
½ November 8, 2008
Another payday for a couple of people in Hollywood over fifty years ago. I'm surprised that it has been able to hang around this long, the plot and the action are dull. Even the possible reference to The Third Man (the sewer scene) only does discredit to the classic.
½ September 13, 2008
The odd thing is that as far as bigfoot/yeti/snowmen movies go, I've seen much worse.
½ August 27, 2008
one of the better yeti movies. full of great atmosphere like dark himalayan caves and windy camp sites in the middle of nowhere but the end half of the film loses credibility and likability when the yeti is transfered to modern day L.A.. would he even survive the climate change? a interesting side note, though he is uncredited it is rumoured and widely believed that the yeti was played by Lock Martin aka Gort in Day The Earth Stood Still. Even more interesting is that the director of this was Billy Wilders brother!
May 15, 2008
Horrible. It was awful. I could barely pay attention, and you don't even see the f'ing snow creature until the last five minutes of the movie.
March 16, 2008
Low budget sci-fi film, it isn't very professionally made but it at least has some imagination and creativity.
February 12, 2008
Horrible, stupid garbage.
½ December 4, 2007
This movie is actually awful. To sum it up, there's a yeti (a man in a furry snow suit) kidnapping people for shits and giggles, while some scientists try to get some flower samples from the Himilayas. Terrible. Probably one of the worst things I've ever seen.
Page 1 of 1