Solo: A Star Wars Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Solo: A Star Wars Story Reviews

Page 1 of 20
August 30, 2018
None of what the movie did made up for the fact that I still just didn't come out of this movie understanding the character of Han Solo any differently.
August 27, 2018
A few unexpected twists towards the end, and the work of its top-notch cast... simply aren't enough.
August 30, 2018
I left with the sentiment of feeling uninspired...how am I coming out of a Star Wars movie like that?
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 30, 2018
I don't know how they botched it with such a great cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 20, 2018
There are more interesting and new unexplored corners of the Star Wars universe, unfortunately [Han] Solo's backstory isn't one of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 5, 2018
Ultimately, Solo's biggest disappointment is that it is forgettable, especially among the sea of other hero movies that came out recently.
May 18, 2018
It's a smorgasbord of fanservice moments that practically look directly into the camera and wink, but each time it happens, the gesture gets less and less endearing.
June 6, 2018
The two entries into the new trilogy have felt epic and heavy but also joyous and uplifting. Solo tries to grasp at both ends of this spectrum, with doomed romances alongside soaring Falcon chase sequences, but it never really reaches either.
May 20, 2018
There's a whole galaxy out there, but Ron Howard doesn't seem to realise it. His Han Solo prequel is a pedestrian journey through a series of inconsequential set-pieces, where character development of its iconic protagonist is stuck to the surface.
May 15, 2018
This movie springboards off the flaws of Star Wars movies that have come before it, not the strengths... If new Star Wars movies are meant for a new generation, then I feel like a new generation deserves better than this.
September 10, 2018
What frustrates me is that it seems the original directors were trying to build an element of unpredictability into pre-manufactured franchises. What we have is the heartwarming Han as our connection to Star Wars grows a little dimmer.
May 24, 2018
My main beef is that there is no sense of originality despite it being an origin story.
June 1, 2018
The problems extend from characterization to plot.
May 30, 2018
If you want to see a perfect example of a once-loved and brilliant movie franchise being milked bone-dry, then the prequel spinoff "Solo" is the movie for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 15, 2018
"Solo" is not an awful movie, it just has a few awful parts that feel uninspired.
May 24, 2018
An annual Star Wars film might have been the childhood dream of many of us, but Solo suggests otherwise.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 25, 2018
Whenever "Star Wars" tries to develop one of the franchise's key characters, it whiffs. "Solo" is no exception, a disappointment on par with "The Last Jedi" and the prequels.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 29, 2018
Franchise fatigue is real and it's acutely felt in a galaxy far, far away.
May 21, 2018
It's cool that Solo: A Star Wars Story lets you know how Han met Chewbacca and Lando. But that's just enough intrigue to fill a trailer -- not a feature film.
May 25, 2018
Taking its cues from the superhero origin story, Solo goes to great lengths to do fan service over its two-hour running time. For the rest, this prequel is a by-the-numbers entry in the franchise and easily the weakest film in the rebooted series.
Page 1 of 20