Somebody Up There Likes Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somebody Up There Likes Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
½ April 11, 2016
Constant une histoire probablement très romancée de Rocky Graziano, Somebody Up There Likes Me est un très bon film de Robert Wise, une success story dans le monde de la boxe des années 50s, avec un Paul Newman absolument stellaire dans le rôle principal (prenant la suite d'un James Dean qui mourut juste avant le tournage) et un supporting cast extrêmement solide, Everett Sloane en tête. Très drôle et pourtant souvent émouvant, le film de Robert Wise est un film constamment divertissant, qui parvient à être très concis (le monteur Albert Akst s'est surpassé pour son dernier film) et à enchaîner, avec les moyens du bord, près de 20 ans d'une vie bien rempli, entre la délinquance, l'armée, la prison et le monde de la boxe professionnelle. Somebody Up There Likes Me est un excellent film, qui a clairement servi d'inspiration à Sly pour Rocky.
½ March 31, 2016
Not a bad boxing movie, but there's plenty of melodrama.
January 2, 2016
1st time viewing. Thoroughly enjoyed.
March 14, 2015
I don't care about the fighting but the characters were interesting
December 10, 2014
Robert Wise has a lot to answer for - after all, he is responsible for editing The Magnificent Ambersons when it was taken away from Orson Welles (there is also The Sound of Music). But he does know how to craft a film - something he may have learned when he was part of Val Lewton's stable of directors doing low budget but effective horror films in the '40's. You can see this craft in films like Odds Against Tomorrow or The Haunting...and in this film which is based on boxer Rocky Graziano's autobiography (with a screenplay by Ernest "North by Northwest" Lehman). Paul Newman is young and hungry as Rocky - and once you get used to his cruddy Brooklyn accent, his performance is electrifying. Method acting probably but it works and everything hangs together just right. Wise creates a good sense of time and place and, although predictable, the story is punchy and compelling. You can see how this may have influenced Scorsese's Raging Bull. Won an Oscar for B&W cinematography and it shows.
July 29, 2013
This is an amazing breakthrough performance from Newman. Really made it his own. Makes one wonder what James Dean would've done with it (likely, the same, but in a different way). Wonderfully-directed by Wise. Angeli is stunning. Seems like a precursor to Raging Bull, but less pretentious; even Rocky. Solid movie.
March 7, 2013
The film more or less a Shoe In for James Dean straight after Giant but as we all know his life was tragically cut short. Even his stunning partner Pier was in this film also.

Thankfully they didn't replace Dean with any hack they got a little unknown talented called Paul Newman at the time.

The story of a trouble maker, somewhat drifter turning Pro Boxer to change his self restricting lifestyle. Although a little too handsome for a street thug Newman was he delivered with an intense & emotionally charged performance.

This is a good a film & although a little patchy in parts it's a incredible debut for Paul Newman.
February 15, 2013
a great movie from paul newman.
January 29, 2013
One of the best movies I have ever seen, but one of the main reason I love this film, my mother also loved this movie & named me after it. Heheheh THANX MUM :-)
January 26, 2013
Not a great movie from Robert Wise, but it's very enjoyable. Paul Newman (who replaced James Dean as the film's star after the actor's untimely death) is pretty good in the role that launched him to stardom, and to quote a line from a review I really like by Bosley Crowther of The New York Times, ''Robert Wise's direction is fast, aggressive and bright, and the picture is edited to give it a tremendous crispness and pace.'' Winner of 2 Oscars back in 1956 -- Best Cinematography (Black and White) & Best Art Direction.
January 26, 2013
good bio-pic of fighter rocky graziano.
½ January 7, 2013
A GIRL CAN LIFT A FELLOW TO THE SKIES <3
January 2, 2013
Somebody Up There Likes Me (1956) -- [6.5] -- Paul Newman headlines this Robert Wise biopic about real-life boxing champ Rocky Graziano. Ernest Lehman's smart, well-paced script sees Rocky through several youthful indiscretions that threaten to ruin him just as the lightweight championship comes within reach. Though he had appeared in one other film prior, this is the movie that launched Paul Newman to stardom, and it's no wonder why -- he's magnetic. (James Dean was originally slated to star, but was killed prior to the start of production.) The supporting players are competent, but Oscar-winner Eileen Heckart ('Butterflies Are Free') stands out as Rocky's mom. The set design and cinematography won Academy Awards, and the climactic fight -- with cross-cut reactions of Rocky's friends, family, and community -- creates an genuine feeling of pride and victory that wouldn't be rivaled for twenty years... Not until another boxer by the same name would grace the silver screen and make film history all over again.
½ November 30, 2012
Don't understand why in the italian dubbing they gave a neapolitan accent to Rocky only when he talks to his parents... it sounds a little bit odd. R.I.P. Paul Newman
June 13, 2012
The story of Rocky Graziano. It's no RAGING BULL, but still worth watching. This is one of those movies I'd put on in the video store as soon as the bosses left.
March 14, 2012
Amazing movie.. Paul Newman rocks!!!
Super Reviewer
December 8, 2011
One of the best sports bio movies ever done.
Super Reviewer
½ November 19, 2011
Early in the movie when Rocky is running around with a street gang, including Sal Mineo and Steve McQueen, you can see why Robert Wise was later given the job of directing West Side Story. I recently read an informative biography about Paul Newman. I didn't realize that he came out of the Actor's Studio, the same method school as Brando, Dean and many others. Newman observed the real Rocky Graziano, saw the neighborhoods where he lived, trained in the gym where he trained. Incidentally, Brando based his manner and voice for Stanley and Terry on Rocky too. Newman embodies a character who seems so different from the ones I've seen him play a later in life. He is excellent. I don't think I've seen any other movies in which Pier Angeli plays a role. Her role here is not the normal doting girlfriend/wife who fades into the background of the story. True she is doting on Rocky, but she shows a strength and a vulnerability that is usually not explored in a supporting part in a biopic like this. The circle of friends and family who surround Rocky through his life are played by a great cast of character actors. Parts of this movie were filmed on location in New York, when that was still a fairly new practice. So it has a realistic feel that doesn't often shrink from the tougher issues in Rocky's life. The big boxing match near the end must have been an inspiration to Scorsese and De Niro for Raging Bull. The movies of course share black and white cinematography. While Scorsese played with the camera speed more, here Wise keeps things at realistic speeds. The makeup work done on Newman as he gets pummeled and swollen looks quite similar to De Niro's makeup. This is a lifelike biopic that covers many years in Rocky Graziano life. The worst part about it is Perry Como's rendition of the title song over both sets of credits.
September 24, 2011
Great biopic on the life of boxer Rocky Graziano. Good character depth and story telling.

Paul Newman puts in a solid performance in the lead role. Also includes Steve McQueen in one of his first movie roles, albeit a minor, uncredited one.
½ September 13, 2011
Good start of legend Paul Newman, much like Cool Hand Luke. Fairly mellow dramatic at times.Still a good movie to watch if you like movies like these.
Page 1 of 7