Somebody Up There Likes Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somebody Up There Likes Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 27, 2017
Nick Offerman is a scene-stealing genius.
July 13, 2013
It might not be everyone's cup of tea, but this mixture of magical realism and bittersweet absurdity benefits from a consistency of vision and a genuinely unusual storytelling approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 14, 2013
An easy going family comedy featuring odd people who turn out to be just like us.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 11, 2013
Deadpan absurdity and an insistently whimsical score only add to the cookie-cutter feel, but the performances are appealing enough.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 5, 2013
Somebody is nihilistic, misanthropic, and weirdly relaxing. I've never seen anything like it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 4, 2013
Somebody Up There Likes Me is a poignant and at times trying work of personal art that will likely mean different things to different people. Like its director, it seems to reflect more than it reveals.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 28, 2013
It's all kind of cute. Maybe a little too cute, but it does have a nice circle-of-life ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 26, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
March 25, 2013
Bob Byington's perspective may be above it all, but that doesn't quite account for the shades of melancholy that pop up unexpectedly in lines of dialogue and in some of the performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 25, 2013
American cinema has been churning out slacker movies for what seems like eons, so it's refreshing to report that Somebody Up There Likes Me enlivens the genre with a welcome breath of imagination, wit and charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
March 14, 2013
Somebody Up There Likes Me is an entertaining film with a strong artistic exertion and a resilient attention to detail, making for a memorable seventy-five minutes thanks to its outlandish quirk and well-defined characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.8/10
March 14, 2013
Words such as offbeat, charming or, Lord help us, quirky are wildly overused and yet this is exactly the kind of film to which they best apply.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 8, 2013
I didn't find Somebody Up There Likes Me as funny as others seem to, but I was fascinated enough by the curious offering to watch it twice.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 8, 2013
In the hands of another filmmaker, Byington's approach might come across as gimmicky or overly precious. Instead, Somebody Up There Likes Me retains a playfully philosophical edge.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 8, 2013
Highly original and delightfully unorthodox.
March 7, 2013
Bob Byington's imaginative indie comedy recalls some of Richard Lester's 60s films in its freewheeling narrative structure and cartoonish sight gags, though the humor is more often peculiar than laugh-out-loud funny.
March 14, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 13, 2012
Walks a fine line between casual cruelty and the grander schemes of time.
October 13, 2013
This isn't mumblecore, but it isn't slapstick, either. File under mumblestick, perhaps?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2