Somebody Up There Likes Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somebody Up There Likes Me Reviews

March 28, 2013
It's all kind of cute. Maybe a little too cute, but it does have a nice circle-of-life ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 26, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
March 26, 2013
The time-killing universe Byington has created makes sure we never forget how absurd he thinks the whole movie is. Fun for him, perhaps.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 25, 2013
American cinema has been churning out slacker movies for what seems like eons, so it's refreshing to report that Somebody Up There Likes Me enlivens the genre with a welcome breath of imagination, wit and charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
March 14, 2013
Words such as offbeat, charming or, Lord help us, quirky are wildly overused and yet this is exactly the kind of film to which they best apply.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 8, 2013
In the hands of another filmmaker, Byington's approach might come across as gimmicky or overly precious. Instead, Somebody Up There Likes Me retains a playfully philosophical edge.
Full Review | Original Score: A
March 8, 2013
Highly original and delightfully unorthodox.
March 7, 2013
Bob Byington's imaginative indie comedy recalls some of Richard Lester's 60s films in its freewheeling narrative structure and cartoonish sight gags, though the humor is more often peculiar than laugh-out-loud funny.
March 7, 2013
A film distinguished entirely by its stubborn refusal to engage viewers in any way whatsoever.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
May 9, 2012
If nonchalance were an Olympic sport, Max would be a gold medalist, and watching Somebody Up There Likes Me is about as much fun as being a spectator at that event might sound.