Somebody Up There Likes Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somebody Up There Likes Me Reviews

Top Critic

New York Times
May 30, 2013
Top Critic
Neil Genzlinger
New York Times
March 28, 2013
It's all kind of cute. Maybe a little too cute, but it does have a nice circle-of-life ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ted Scheinman
Village Voice
March 26, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Time Out
March 26, 2013
The time-killing universe Byington has created makes sure we never forget how absurd he thinks the whole movie is. Fun for him, perhaps.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
David Lewis
San Francisco Chronicle
March 25, 2013
American cinema has been churning out slacker movies for what seems like eons, so it's refreshing to report that Somebody Up There Likes Me enlivens the genre with a welcome breath of imagination, wit and charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ted Scheinman
L.A. Weekly
March 15, 2013
The film itself is so charming that you almost forget to ask whether these people truly deserve our empathy.
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
March 14, 2013
Words such as offbeat, charming or, Lord help us, quirky are wildly overused and yet this is exactly the kind of film to which they best apply.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Eric Kohn
indieWIRE
March 8, 2013
In the hands of another filmmaker, Byington's approach might come across as gimmicky or overly precious. Instead, Somebody Up There Likes Me retains a playfully philosophical edge.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Stephen Dalton
Hollywood Reporter
March 8, 2013
Highly original and delightfully unorthodox.
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
March 7, 2013
Bob Byington's imaginative indie comedy recalls some of Richard Lester's 60s films in its freewheeling narrative structure and cartoonish sight gags, though the humor is more often peculiar than laugh-out-loud funny.
Top Critic
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
March 7, 2013
A film distinguished entirely by its stubborn refusal to engage viewers in any way whatsoever.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
Peter Debruge
Variety
May 9, 2012
If nonchalance were an Olympic sport, Max would be a gold medalist, and watching Somebody Up There Likes Me is about as much fun as being a spectator at that event might sound.