Something Borrowed - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Something Borrowed Reviews

Page 1 of 6
February 7, 2012
The work of the lead trio keeps the movie from ever becoming something blue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 16, 2011
...a passable romcom that just barely gets the job done...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 8, 2011
Like a trashy paperback you take to the beach, I'm not proud of liking it and I'm not saying it doesn't have problems, but in the end I kind of enjoyed it anyway.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5
May 8, 2011
Although 'Something Borrowed' deals with serious love vs. friendship issues, Kate Hudson's performance is over-the-top funny.
May 7, 2011
Hudson and Goodwin have great chemistry together. Krasinski does the best acting job and steals every scene he appears in. The cinematography, scenic New York locations and a romantic soundtrack are added bonuses.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 6, 2011
... rises above its lack of promise ...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 6, 2011
Compared to last year's Sex and the City 2, this is a breath of fresh air. For those who enjoy the great romantic comedies, though, Something Borrowed hasn't borrowed enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 6, 2011
The tension between the film's happy public surface and the thorny interior themes of guilt and deception gives the movie a perhaps unintentional 'romcom noir' distinctiveness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 6, 2011
Something Borrowed is a snappy rom com about intersecting desires among a group of twenty-something friends.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 5, 2011
A genial cast and moderately funny script prevail over the sort of sappy music cues and white-bread settings that have become the grating norm in Hollywood rom-coms.
May 5, 2011
Doesn't always evade the traps of convention, but it is the first film of its kind in a while with an ending that isn't such an obvious foregone conclusion.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 5, 2011
Kate Hudson's amusing portrait of an egomaniacal frenemy is the best reason to see this overextended soap opera.
May 5, 2011
Occasionally chuckle-worthy and seldom awful or stupid. It's an emotionally intelligent film, if not an outstandingly amusing one.
May 5, 2011
A soul-searching chick flick that really clicks.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
May 4, 2011
Greenfield stumbles on occasions but it aims at some sort of honesty and for the most part achieves it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 4, 2011
As odd as it seems, Something Borrowed grows on you as it wears on, primarily because its characters are relatively unlikeable for a film of this type.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 4, 2011
It made me like it against my will and despite my biases, and it made me like that I liked it. I enjoyed its walk of shame.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 15, 2013
From its empty soul to its poorly framed shots ready for pan-and-scan conversion, Something Borrowed seems primed to play on Saturday afternoons on E!, sandwiched between reruns of Keeping Up with the Kardashians...
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 12, 2013
Chemistry-free casting (Ginnifer Goodwin and John Krasinski) and a flawed premise, not the recipe for a great romance
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
December 31, 2011
No romantic drama has ever been so misguided and eager for you to root against its characters. This tacky, morally abhorrent film is unbearable.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 6