Somewhere in Time - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Somewhere in Time Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 23, 2004
The movie surrounds its love story with such boring mumbo jumbo about time travel that we finally just don't care.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Austin Kennedy
Film Geek Central
April 15, 2013
I understand why this movie has a respectable cult following. I get the appeal. I only wish the movie would have followed through with its promising premise all the way. I didn't dislike it, but was a little letdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
April 3, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Vincent Canby
New York Times
August 30, 2004
The [Grand H]otel and Mackinac [Island] are spectacularly lovely, but fail to give substance to this ephemeral endeavor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Dave Kehr
Chicago Reader
December 10, 2007
Director Jeannot Szwarc strains hard for spectacular visual effects, though he's barely able to compose a competent close-up.
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
This must go down as a missed opportunity.

TV Guide's Movie Guide
December 10, 2007
Jeannot Szwarc does well in the director's chair, and Jean-Pierre Dorleac (brother of Francoise) deserves special commendation for his costumes. But Seymour is given too little to do, and Reeve does too much.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
April 8, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Scott Weinberg
July 26, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Variety Staff
December 10, 2007
A charming, witty, passionate romantic drama about a love transcending space and time, Somewhere In Time is an old-fashioned film in the best sense of that term.
Shane Burridge
January 1, 2000
Assuredly affirms that love is a force to which the laws of the universe cannot apply
Full Review
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
February 13, 2004
| Original Score: 4/5
Carol Cling
Las Vegas Review-Journal
May 28, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette
February 8, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
Ryan Cracknell
Apollo Guide
February 13, 2001
Above all, this film captures a romantic part of the imagination that is often left unexplored.
Full Review | Original Score: 73/100
Tony Toscano
Talking Pictures (U.S.)
April 3, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
Emanuel Levy
July 21, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 1