Sommersby - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sommersby Reviews

Page 3 of 16
January 9, 2010
well weird and you never really find out what you wanted to know. romantic though!
½ December 30, 2009
Best movie I have seen in a long time !!
½ December 27, 2009
Will the real Jack Sommersby please stand up? Captivating right to the end... and we still don't know who the heck he is.
December 26, 2009
Major, major logic fails. Interesting, but illogical. Very pretty, though, and lovely music.
½ December 4, 2009
i have seen this but it wasn't that memorable.
½ November 24, 2009
I can never remember the end!! or is it because this is shit!!!
November 2, 2009
I thought this was a very sweet movie.
October 13, 2009
Sommersby was the story of a man named Jack Sommersby, played by Richard Gere, a changed man who returned to his hometown after 6 years held prisoner in the Civil War.You will like and dislike his character, first like because he was nice to the slaves, good for his wife(Jody Foster) and dislike cause of who he was before. Now changed, you could understand why he lied, but it was hard to understand why he pretended to be someone he was not. In the end he made the right choice that allows the slaves to keep their land. This movie made you think about right & wrong.
October 11, 2009
In the end love is all that matters, a two hanky beautifuly acted by gere and foster, one interesting twist after the other . . .
October 1, 2009
Interesting story, but it takes too long to get to the point.
September 28, 2009
An awesome love story.
September 28, 2009
** (out of four)

This is one of those films where if you buy the unbelievable set-up of the film, you may enjoy it. But, to me the plot of this movie is so far-fetched that it ruins the nice production value.

Jodie Foster is woman whose husband (Richard Gere) is killed in the Civil War. He returns, looking different, two years later. She is not sure if it is him.
September 26, 2009
wow umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch....its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie...i think that bill pullman, james earl jones, jodie foster, richard gere, william windom play good roles/parts throughout this movie....i think that the director of this love/drama/romance movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie....i think that theres good chemistry between jodie foster n richard gere throughout this movie...i think that this is a good movie 2 watch its got a good cast throghout n its a good movie 2 watch
½ September 24, 2009
after waiting forever to watch this from reading the blurb, it was horribly disappointing. I don't think I could watch it again.What was a good story was turned into a bad bad film.
September 22, 2009
Very boring movie of a good story. Could possibly be a great book.
August 26, 2009
A lovely movie, is he or isn't he her husband. Either way it's catch 22 and with people plotting his demise he has no chance, great performances all round.
½ July 12, 2009
HE IS A ROMANTIC HERE IN THIS MOVIE.
July 11, 2009
It's slow in areas. But the acting and the storyline keep this afloat.
Super Reviewer
½ May 31, 2009
Based on the story "The Return of Martin Guerre" this is a beautifully and inticately woven tale that tests the strength of love and pride. A story with powerful emotions and a dilema which is a tragedy of it's time.

Richard Gere who is often criticised as an Actor gave no reason for criticism here and another good performance from Jodie Foster.
Page 3 of 16