We Are What We Are - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are What We Are Reviews

Page 1 of 3
August 8, 2011
A competent barebones transfer of a horror film that deserves to win a wider audience among the Netflix crowd.
July 20, 2011
Grau equates his cannibal family much like Tobe Hooper's Texas clan - as disenfranchised poor people living on the fringes of society struggling with their own familial power structure.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 14, 2011
If the resulting work ultimately fails to completely marry its disparate goals, it's to Grau's credit that he manages to make this slow-burning horror drama work as well as he does.
Full Review | Original Score: 57/100
May 26, 2011
Takes a what-if situation and drives it rather unimaginatively into the exact places you might imagine it would go.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 28, 2011
Time and again promises answers and payoffs that do not come. Instead of being enigmatic for a reason, the film feels simply half-formed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 24, 2011
An unexpectedly rich exploration of family bonds, blood rituals and the oftentimes zombie-like desire to assume the roles proscribed to each of us, played out with a sharp undertow of political allegory and darkly comic sensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 24, 2011
You might want to catch We Are What We Are before its inevitable, much-too-glossy remake brightens the walls of American multiplexes.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
February 19, 2011
We Are What We Are is a superficially provocative movie that tries way too hard to be memorable.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 18, 2011
Grau never offers a tangible way in, a meaningful reason for the audience to try and probe below the grotesque surface.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 18, 2011
Unfolding in an impoverished neighborhood in Mexico City, this disturbing debut paints social decay with bold, elegant strokes and dizzying camera angles.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 18, 2011
Grau's script is intelligent, and it has something to say about family and social dysfunction. You just might want to skip meat for a few days.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 17, 2011
Like zombie auteur George Romero at his best, Grau locks his sights on his social commentary of choice and goes after it with the zeal of a 19-year-old cannibal girl sinking an ax into the skull of her next meal.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
February 17, 2011
A visually striking debut for writer-director Jorge Michel Grau, who proves he has the chops for atmospheric horror even when his pretentious storytelling tendencies undermine the end result.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 17, 2011
lack of exposition and an air of genuine confusion are key to the film's modest successes
| Original Score: 3.5/5
February 17, 2011
Grau effectively mixes wry, bloody, deadpan gags, family drama, and stomach-churning violence.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 17, 2011
[VIDEO] Although Grau might imagine that the film's Spanish family of prostitute-killing cannibals represent some cogent diatribe on the nature of capitalist existence, no such literary rigor is applied.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
February 17, 2011
With its sly message of self-empowerment in the face of overwhelming odds, this is pretty much the Mexico City Pride float of Mexican gay cannibal movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 17, 2011
Cannibal movie is well-cooked but hard to swallow.
February 16, 2011
The characters' rapacious tendencies exist in a void, so all we get is numbing, meaningless viscera.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 15, 2011
We Are What We Are is a darkly comic social allegory as well as an atmospheric little genre flick.
Page 1 of 3