We Are What We Are - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are What We Are Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Martin Roberts
Fan The Fire
November 10, 2010
In the final third the pace quickens, building toward a well staged climax that at least allows the film to bow out on a high.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John P. McCarthy
Boxoffice Magazine
February 19, 2011
We Are What We Are is a superficially provocative movie that tries way too hard to be memorable.
| Original Score: 2/5
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express (UK)
November 12, 2010
The story about a family of cannibals thrown into confusion after the death of daddy cannibal (who will lead? who will hunt?) is pretentious, slow and deadly dull.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Robert Levin
Film School Rejects
February 18, 2011
Grau never offers a tangible way in, a meaningful reason for the audience to try and probe below the grotesque surface.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Aaron Cutler
Slant Magazine
February 15, 2011
Few things are more irritating than movies that get their jollies off of abusing women, a preference We Are What We Are then emphasizes by showing the dead prostitute's battered face.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
February 17, 2011
[VIDEO] Although Grau might imagine that the film's Spanish family of prostitute-killing cannibals represent some cogent diatribe on the nature of capitalist existence, no such literary rigor is applied.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
November 11, 2010
Unaccountably praised by some critics, the film is like a supermarket sandwich, flavourless as you consume it while leaving a slightly nasty taste in the mouth afterwards.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Keith Uhlich
Time Out
February 16, 2011
The characters' rapacious tendencies exist in a void, so all we get is numbing, meaningless viscera.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Shawn Levy
Oregonian
May 26, 2011
Takes a what-if situation and drives it rather unimaginatively into the exact places you might imagine it would go.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
February 28, 2011
Time and again promises answers and payoffs that do not come. Instead of being enigmatic for a reason, the film feels simply half-formed.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Eric Monder
Film Journal International
February 17, 2011
Cannibal movie is well-cooked but hard to swallow.
Christopher Tookey
Daily Mail (UK)
November 29, 2010
The action is poorly handled, the pace is leaden, and the camerawork tediously static.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Nicola Woodham
Electric Sheep
November 10, 2010
Guillermo del Toro rubbing shoulders with Pedro Almodóvar.
Top Critic
February 17, 2011
Like zombie auteur George Romero at his best, Grau locks his sights on his social commentary of choice and goes after it with the zeal of a 19-year-old cannibal girl sinking an ax into the skull of her next meal.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Roz Laws
Birmingham Post
November 11, 2010
I wish we knew more about why they are cannibals, but if you like enigmatic, interestingly-shot foreign films, then give this one a go.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chuck Bowen
Slant Magazine
August 8, 2011
A competent barebones transfer of a horror film that deserves to win a wider audience among the Netflix crowd.
Sophie Ivan
Film4
November 15, 2010
Without doubt, the best Mexican cannibal horror movie of the decade.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Robbie Collin
News of the World
November 14, 2010
Should win fans from the horror and arthouse crowds alike.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Anton Bitel
Little White Lies
September 23, 2010
In Grau's artfully aloof anatomisation of a dog-eat-dog society, everyone is a monster ruled by carnality and predation.
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
November 1, 2010
If the film's matter-of-fact title invites us not to judge its characters for their monstrously human conduct, its use of the first personal plural serves further to implicate us all in their Darwinian enterprise.
Page 1 of 3