Song to Song - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Song to Song Reviews

Page 1 of 7
December 12, 2018
Though there are times when you're dying for any excuse to look away from the monotony of the montage, it's yet another vanity project that's as isolating as it is immersive.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 3, 2018
Malick seeks only to gorge on the emotional malcontent of his disaffected players. They don't seek transcendence from their lot, just pity in finding the right partner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 16, 2018
Outside of the more standard Malick-isms, Song to Song also has a troubling relationship with women, making their role secondary to a man's and establishing a mood of objectification.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/10
August 30, 2018
I'm pretty sure Terrence Malick pulled an Adam Sandler on me because this is nothing but him, Fassbender, Mara, and Gosling going on vacation to Texas and South America.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 23, 2018
"Song to Song" seems, and I believe I said this when I reviewed Malick's last movie "Knight of Cups," embarrassingly similar to a perfume commercial.
April 20, 2017
The lack of a strong storyline and strong narrative did not make Song To Song as enjoyable of an experience as I had hoped.
March 24, 2017
Malick hasn't had much interest in plot for years now, and of his last three movies, this one is the most obviously script-less, with scene after scene that feels like he brought his actors to a location and told them to do whatever they wanted.
April 1, 2017
Though my low expectations were essentially met, I'm tired of Terrence Malick coasting on mediocrity and it being considered "experimental"
Full Review | Original Score: 1-5 stars
March 15, 2017
Song to Song is like watching a gorgeous home video of a family you don't know, and don't want to.
July 7, 2017
Frame to frame, yawn to yawn . . .
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 6, 2017
It's just full of extremely hot people whispering and kissing each other's stomachs and walking on beaches and staring at each other while a voiceover says couplets better suited to aftershave adverts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 16, 2017
When endured at a 129 minutes, Song to Song totally lack the lyricism intended. In actuality, it has all the poetry of a greeting card
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 23, 2017
I'm sure Malick and his editors had a focused intent when sequencing the imagery, but nothing so specific registers on the big screen. What it amounts to is an empty exercise in free association that becomes unbearably dull as the film wears on.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
March 12, 2017
Malick's camera was once drawn to the sky, as the light from above plays on the leaves. With Song to Song, he's simply seeking a backstage pass to hang with the cool kids.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 23, 2017
[Terrance Malick] prefers to create a visual representation of love, which is fine in theory and juvenile in execution.
May 20, 2017
The failure of Song to Song lies in the chasm that continues to widen between Terrence Malick's directing style and the scope of the narrative he wishes to take on.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 21, 2017
... just another minor variation on Malick's favorite theme-the power of love and spirituality to transcend the life-poisoning curses of ambition and greed-and not a very effective one, at that.
March 18, 2017
There is a certain tune trapped inside of Terrence Malick's head, and it is infecting his work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
March 22, 2017
The distinguished director has been making the same movie out of the same B-roll footage for years now, and it reaches an unfortunate climax with Song to Song.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 11, 2017
The result is disheartening and may even leave you resentful, with the knowledge that a true poet is painting with the same splendorous canvas, and yet still offering diminishing returns.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 7