Sophie's Revenge - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sophie's Revenge Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 7, 2016
A horseplay comedy, made in China, starring Zhang Zi Yi, Fan Bing Bing & So Ji Sub.
½ March 30, 2013
Very different to see Ziyi Zhang in more of a comedic role as an adorable nerd comic book artist. She was actually really good. Very enjoyable film.
November 18, 2012
Enjoyable comedy bits, some ingeniously cooky sequences, but over-the-top with sentimentality and bad melodrama... It was OK...
November 18, 2012
The good looking guy she dated did nothing wrong and got screwed over for it.
October 12, 2012
Poorly done technically with a cliche story and annoying characters.
½ March 4, 2012
Daydreaming comic book author reminiscing her past love failure through her POV. Promising, but quite cheesy and over-acted at times.
February 26, 2012
i loved this movie! it was pretty predictable, but the casting is on point, and the combination of animation and asian scenery is enough to make me want to watch it again.
½ December 31, 2011
a good standard original & funny movie!
Super Reviewer
October 29, 2011
This is a movie that has its charms, its vibrant feel and Ziyi Zhang being adorable, but this movie isn't much better than just OK. Being quirky can only take you so far and you can't just depend on that. Maybe if you're Jean Pierre-Jeunet, and And that's the problem with this movie, it doesn't go beyond being quirky and silly. It's also way too light for my tastes. The last 20 or so minutes are also needlessly melodramatic and overly sentimental. And I'm not saying the movie is bad at all, it just feels too derivative of other movies and it feels like a movie with no real identity of its own. The problem is, it's definitely a more Americanized than your typical Chinese movie, that's a problem. That's one of the reasons I like foreign movies so much, since they're usually inspired by that country's particular culture, so you get a fresh perspective on a genre that you might be completely and utterly tired of, like romantic comedies. Granted romantic comedies are incredibly limiting. But then again, if you watched this movie, you wouldn't learn anything about China. It just doesn't feel unique to the country. So overall, not a bad movie, just one that probably should've been better.
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2011
Who knew that Ziyi Zhang was such a sharp comedic actress? Anyone familiar with her only from her work in martial arts epics like House of Flying Daggers and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon will be in for a dramatic change with Sophie's Revenge.

Zhang plays Sophie, a comic strip artist and writer who has just lost her boyfriend to a gorgeous actress (Bing Bing Fan), and allies herself with the actress's ex in order to break them up. This is an amusing, silly and lighthearted movie that does romantic comedy right. Zhang is so adorable and cute (seriously, try not to fall for her, you will fail) that Sophie's Revenge would be worth seeing for her alone, but the rest of the cast and the movie as a whole hits the right notes and comes off as a wholly charming experience. The story doesn't exactly venture into unexpected territory, but there are lots of little animated scenes and other embellishments that make this more charming and imaginative than the run-of-the-mill movies in the genre being churned out today.
½ May 2, 2011
didn't know Zhang Ziyi can do pretty well in this romance comdey type of show, totally change the way i look at her now! and she is a beauty, Fan Bing Bing too. i wish i looked like them :(
½ August 9, 2010
new fav movie! loved every minute of it! i love the film effects, the characters, as well as the animated graphics that pop up every now and then! storyline is sorta predictable but has a nice twist to it~ it has a fresh and quirky feel. just love it! zhang ziyi looks like such a kid in this movie. and how old is she already?? early 30s i think.. anyway, highly recommended for anyone who doesn't mind light hearted rom-coms :)
½ July 5, 2010
A sort of Eastern version of Amelie's World. I enjoyed it, even though it cannot be considered a completely original film I found it funny and entertaining.
June 6, 2010
大????好???,????好??,??????好??,??潤???樣好似走走???,??????好??樣....................?實?????ok?,???好??顯??????左??????????~
½ May 9, 2010
One word, A-dorable!
April 19, 2010
omg so fake...women are scary :[
March 15, 2010
Mainland romantic comedy that takes a page out of Hollywood's book rather than Hong Kong, making the People's Republic look a lot more glamourous than it is. And with a Chinese-American director and lots of Korean money, Sophie's Revenge has a hard time even passing as a Chinese production. Contrary to popular slander though, Zhang Ziyi really can do comedy, but unfortunately most of it is based on her falling on her head rather than actual wit and timing. As a result, Sophie's Revenge is never as funny as it looks.
February 21, 2010
Fan BingBing is so pretty
½ January 31, 2010
Cute, but wayy shallow
January 11, 2010
中??浪漫???. quite touching ...
Page 1 of 2