Sound of Metal Reviews

Page 1 of 10
January 20, 2021
A listening experience that I haven't had anywhere else, though the filmmaking is great too.
January 20, 2021
The production is done really well, and the performances stand out...it's a quiet, intimate film, but I kept waiting for it to hook me...good, but a bit at arms-length.
January 19, 2021
While the performances are certainly strong (especially by Paul Raci as Ruben's mentor), the film's muddled politics undercut its emotional impact by refusing to embrace the ambiguity of its protagonist's plight.
January 12, 2021
Sound of Metal is a transcendent film that happens to be deeply grounded. It feels revolutionary, weaving a profound rhythm into its quietest moments.
January 11, 2021
[An] emotional interpretation from Olivia Cooke. [Full review in Spanish]
January 10, 2021
'Sound of Metal' doesn't miss a beat.
January 10, 2021
The only sense of emotional continuity that seems believable to me in the film is Ruben's emotional journey. That journey alone is enough for me to give this film a pass.
January 9, 2021
Losing your hearing can be hard, but when you are a musician, it can be career ending.
January 8, 2021
Riz Ahmed captures at its perfection the combination between despair and hope. The film stops being the story of a musician that loses his hearing and becomes the story of a rediscovered human being. [Full review in Spanish]
January 5, 2021
The film is startlingly artful for a directorial debut, and endlessly surprising.
January 5, 2021
... Marder grabs us, not so much with the vociferous metal music or any type of artistic pose, but rather with an effective sound design and narrative quality.
January 4, 2021
Riz Ahmed leads this film about loss and addiction. The sound mixing and editing in the film was so incredible that it actually made me feel uncomfortable.
January 3, 2021
Riz Ahmed is a vibrant and mesmerizing catastrophe as he falls utterly to pieces.
January 2, 2021
A thought-provoking film that rises above what could have been a gimmick at its heart to become something painful and moving.
December 30, 2020
A purposefully-quiet film...
December 29, 2020
[Riz Ahmed] provides a sensitive performance, agitated although at no time excessive. [Full review in Spanish]
December 29, 2020
A film so immersive that you will spend half of it anxiously and overwhelmed. A surprising Riz Ahmed in a role that will take at least the nomination for Best Actor. [Full review in Spanish]
December 28, 2020
First-time feature writer/director Darius Marder...does something remarkable in almost every scene of Sound of Metal, particularly when it comes to his use of sound.
December 28, 2020
Instead of a point of view, Sound of Metal gives us a point of hearing.
December 27, 2020
Riz Ahmed is a legit Oscar contender.
Page 1 of 10