Sound of My Voice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sound of My Voice Reviews

Page 1 of 6
September 8, 2013
Acted with a subtle nuances throughout, this film's ambiguous ending will elicit much discussion, while the film's delicately handled politics are refreshingly two-sided.
June 20, 2013
Sound of My Voice is a too-rare example of intelligent, ambitious genre filmmaking.
June 19, 2013
Sound of My Voice is an eerie film that is completely supported by the performances. It's deliberately vague, which can sometimes be annoying but works fine in this setting.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 7, 2012
A cracker of a film about the seductive power of cults... the film rides largely on the haunting, compelling presence of Marling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 2, 2012
Sound of My Voice is an interesting approach to indie sci-fi and a solid introduction to Batmanglij and Marling as bright new talents.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 3, 2012
A compelling low-budget film which would have been even better if co-writer Marling could wean herself off an infatuation with infuriating conclusions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 29, 2012
A light puzzler that's not as complex as a rubix cube but more akin to a simple cryptic crossword
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 24, 2012
This isn't a movie that needs, or even welcomes, neat ends. Rather, it imagines the world as it is: messy, confusing, and rarely ever black and white.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 9, 2012
Another thought-provoking fable from Another Earth's Brit Marling.
August 6, 2012
Argh! Actor and screenwriter Brit Marling has done it again! She's come up with an intriguing science-fictional concept as the basis for an indie arthouse drama -- and she doesn't know what to do with it.
August 3, 2012
[A] bumpy but watchable cult-penetration thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 3, 2012
Proof that you can create nerve-scraping twilight zones without A-list stars or CGI.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 2, 2012
A few clumsy but forgivable moments aside, this is a subtle and downright creepy film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2012
Smartly written, well made and superbly acted indie thriller that makes the most of its low budget and confirms co-writer/star Brit Marling as a talent to watch, though it's slightly let down by a frustrating climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 1, 2012
It's a small scale movie with some big ideas.
July 31, 2012
As a thriller, 'Sound of My Voice' tails off and its budget shows. But for Marling it's an impressive calling card.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 30, 2012
The duo of Marling and Batmanglij have constructed an engrossing mystery, written, acted and directed with considerable skill.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 24, 2012
Batmanglij and Marling have crafted a neat chiller, a no-frills B movie that explores the central conceit with intelligence and wit...
June 20, 2012
Left me wanting a more convincing ending I could reflect on rather than a story that seemed dubious and invented and coming to a dead-end.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
June 4, 2012
The odd "wait-a-second" feeling that director Zal Batmanglij imbues the film with makes it more memorable than its conventional peers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 6