Sound of My Voice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sound of My Voice Reviews

Page 1 of 6
April 26, 2012
No great psychological depths are being plumbed here, which unfortunately, seems to render nil the raison d'Ítre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 10, 2012
This plays like an early George Romero shocker but without Romero's humor or social commentary.
August 2, 2012
For two-thirds this held my attention but it becomes clear the story is an elaborate tease with no answers or proper third act.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 3, 2012
Fascinates and titillates, but never quite persuades.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 24, 2012
The bland, jittery visual "realism" can't counteract overheated performances of tin-eared dialogue, which strain for pulp but often land at soap.
May 16, 2012
Pretentious, self-serving vehicle glorifying Marling. If you can't get hired, write yourself a role where you are worshipped. Make sure you are the only good looking woman in the film with plenty of golden close-ups.
May 10, 2012
Merely an idea getting warmed up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 27, 2012
"Sound of My Voice'' holds your attention for a while, but fails to build much suspense as it races toward a predictable climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 27, 2012
None of this really adds up to much beyond an hour-and-a-half or so of vague doubletalk, arbitrary decisions and increasingly annoying frustration.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 18, 2012
There's nothing wrong with asking viewers to fill in some holes. But "Sound of My Voice" leaves you dangling, reaching out for something that's just not there.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 4, 2012
That the movie is part of a possible trilogy doesn't make up for the thin, underdeveloped feel. But Marling, who weaves a strong spell, will probably keep appearing in our future.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 22, 2012
Either Maggie is the real deal, or she's lying, or we never find out. In any case, anticlimax seems inevitable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 4, 2012
An intriguing new subgenre that might be described as 'Sundance science fiction' continues with this creepy but ultimately unpersuasive film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 16, 2012
Marling underplays her character's charisma to the point of nonexistence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 27, 2013
It does look like it was made for a buck and a quarter and is sufficiently ambiguous to be taken as profound.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 26, 2012
The more the film balks at meeting viewers halfway, the more frustrating it becomes, like the Wizard of Oz after he's revealed to be a charlatan. It promises to take us down a yellow brick road toward enlightenment, but it leads us off a cliff instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 5, 2012
The setting up is better than the working out, and a third act is desperately lacking.
April 24, 2012
For those who aren't burdened by such things, the loopy, off-kilter pace and frontal-lobe frying provide their own unconventional pleasures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 27, 2012
Marling seems less in danger of creating the same part over and over again than the same movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 28, 2012
This is the kind of picture that may often make you snort audibly, even as you're wondering how the heck it's going to resolve itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Page 1 of 6