Sound of My Voice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sound of My Voice Reviews

Top Critic
Cath Clarke
Time Out
July 31, 2012
As a thriller, 'Sound of My Voice' tails off and its budget shows. But for Marling it's an impressive calling card.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Calvin Wilson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
June 1, 2012
"Sound of My Voice" at once dramatizes and questions the power of belief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
May 24, 2012
There is a huge difference between an unexpectedly sudden ending (like The Sopranos) and a non-ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
May 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
May 18, 2012
There's nothing wrong with asking viewers to fill in some holes. But "Sound of My Voice" leaves you dangling, reaching out for something that's just not there.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
May 11, 2012
Behold the trials and tribulations of going undercover. It doesn't matter if it's cop or journalist, a muddying of purpose takes hold once a mole plunges deeper into the darkness.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
May 10, 2012
The intelligence in it is both soothing and intimidating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
May 10, 2012
This plays like an early George Romero shocker but without Romero's humor or social commentary.
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
May 10, 2012
Sound of My Voice grounds its science fiction in scarily effective "what ifs" that don't require a light year's stretch of the imagination.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
May 10, 2012
[Marling] is a talent with an understated presence. It conveys in this film an insidious conviction: What is her motive, really?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
May 4, 2012
[The] idea is intriguing enough. But this clever, low-budget film kicks the concept up a few notches to mesmerizing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
May 4, 2012
That the movie is part of a possible trilogy doesn't make up for the thin, underdeveloped feel. But Marling, who weaves a strong spell, will probably keep appearing in our future.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
San Francisco Chronicle
May 3, 2012
Fascinates and titillates, but never quite persuades.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
May 3, 2012
You just want something energetic to happen, and it doesn't until the film's effective final scene.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 3, 2012
Sound of My Voice serves up moments of extreme dread and discomfort, but works a winning undercurrent of playful absurdity into the material as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
April 28, 2012
Proves how effectively you can set the mind-bending mood without any special effects, action sequences or spectral rabbits.
Top Critic
April 28, 2012
There's an unshakeable sense of uneasiness as one never knows precisely what might occur, and the truth is almost impossible to discern.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Stephen Cole
Globe and Mail
April 27, 2012
A sharp little cult thriller with a do-it-yourself ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
April 27, 2012
None of this really adds up to much beyond an hour-and-a-half or so of vague doubletalk, arbitrary decisions and increasingly annoying frustration.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
April 27, 2012
"Sound of My Voice'' holds your attention for a while, but fails to build much suspense as it races toward a predictable climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
April 27, 2012
Marling seems less in danger of creating the same part over and over again than the same movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
April 26, 2012
A smart, effectively unsettling movie about the need to believe and the hard, cruel arts of persuasion.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Mary F. Pols
TIME Magazine
April 26, 2012
The movie explores the basic debate over faith, the idea that we can feel a sense of relief in cynicism realized and turn around and face the horror of our lack of faith in the next moment.
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
April 26, 2012
The film is thin and mannered, even though many of the mannerisms are intrinsic to its shrewd vision of cult behavior. There's no arguing, though-and who would want to?-Ms. Marling's extraordinary gift for taking the camera and weaving a spell.
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Los Angeles Times
April 26, 2012
An appealing hybrid of genre smarts and a questioning sensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Joe Neumaier
New York Daily News
April 26, 2012
The creepy pull of cults is only one aspect of this mesmerizing drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Alison Willmore
AV Club
April 26, 2012
Marling provides a grave, otherworldly center around which everything else orbits...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
April 25, 2012
A small-scale, shot-on-DV movie that, in its stripped-down low-budget way, gets deeper into the fascination - the mental horror - of cults than Martha Marcy May Marlene did.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
James Rocchi
MSN Movies
April 25, 2012
Stuffed full of ideas and twists and turns, it also plays a little thin and fragile, more like a haiku than a novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
David Fear
Time Out
April 24, 2012
For those who aren't burdened by such things, the loopy, off-kilter pace and frontal-lobe frying provide their own unconventional pleasures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Karina Longworth
Village Voice
April 24, 2012
The bland, jittery visual "realism" can't counteract overheated performances of tin-eared dialogue, which strain for pulp but often land at soap.
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
April 24, 2012
"Sound of My Voice" may seem like an extended episode of "The Twilight Zone," but within its clever structure it digs into the notions of identity, loyalty and the need to belong.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Justin Chang
Variety
April 23, 2012
An object lesson in how much can be achieved on modest means with a smart combo of craft and story.
Top Critic
David Edelstein
New York Magazine/Vulture
April 23, 2012
Batmanglij keeps the movie even-keeled, full of medium close-ups, underscored by ambient plinks and shimmers, with nothing to break the trance until a last scene that upends everything we thought we knew.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
February 8, 2011
A couple infiltrates a secretive cult in this tense, very low-budget thriller with science fiction overtones.