Sound of My Voice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Sound of My Voice Reviews

July 31, 2012
As a thriller, 'Sound of My Voice' tails off and its budget shows. But for Marling it's an impressive calling card.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 1, 2012
"Sound of My Voice" at once dramatizes and questions the power of belief.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 24, 2012
There is a huge difference between an unexpectedly sudden ending (like The Sopranos) and a non-ending.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 18, 2012
There's nothing wrong with asking viewers to fill in some holes. But "Sound of My Voice" leaves you dangling, reaching out for something that's just not there.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
May 11, 2012
Behold the trials and tribulations of going undercover. It doesn't matter if it's cop or journalist, a muddying of purpose takes hold once a mole plunges deeper into the darkness.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 10, 2012
The intelligence in it is both soothing and intimidating.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 10, 2012
This plays like an early George Romero shocker but without Romero's humor or social commentary.
May 10, 2012
Sound of My Voice grounds its science fiction in scarily effective "what ifs" that don't require a light year's stretch of the imagination.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 10, 2012
[Marling] is a talent with an understated presence. It conveys in this film an insidious conviction: What is her motive, really?
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 4, 2012
[The] idea is intriguing enough. But this clever, low-budget film kicks the concept up a few notches to mesmerizing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 4, 2012
That the movie is part of a possible trilogy doesn't make up for the thin, underdeveloped feel. But Marling, who weaves a strong spell, will probably keep appearing in our future.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2012
Fascinates and titillates, but never quite persuades.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 3, 2012
You just want something energetic to happen, and it doesn't until the film's effective final scene.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 3, 2012
Sound of My Voice serves up moments of extreme dread and discomfort, but works a winning undercurrent of playful absurdity into the material as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 28, 2012
Proves how effectively you can set the mind-bending mood without any special effects, action sequences or spectral rabbits.
April 28, 2012
There's an unshakeable sense of uneasiness as one never knows precisely what might occur, and the truth is almost impossible to discern.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 27, 2012
A sharp little cult thriller with a do-it-yourself ending.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 27, 2012
None of this really adds up to much beyond an hour-and-a-half or so of vague doubletalk, arbitrary decisions and increasingly annoying frustration.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 27, 2012
"Sound of My Voice'' holds your attention for a while, but fails to build much suspense as it races toward a predictable climax.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 27, 2012
Marling seems less in danger of creating the same part over and over again than the same movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 26, 2012
A smart, effectively unsettling movie about the need to believe and the hard, cruel arts of persuasion.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
April 26, 2012
The movie explores the basic debate over faith, the idea that we can feel a sense of relief in cynicism realized and turn around and face the horror of our lack of faith in the next moment.
April 26, 2012
The film is thin and mannered, even though many of the mannerisms are intrinsic to its shrewd vision of cult behavior. There's no arguing, though-and who would want to?-Ms. Marling's extraordinary gift for taking the camera and weaving a spell.
April 26, 2012
An appealing hybrid of genre smarts and a questioning sensibility.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 26, 2012
The creepy pull of cults is only one aspect of this mesmerizing drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 26, 2012
Marling provides a grave, otherworldly center around which everything else orbits...
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 25, 2012
A small-scale, shot-on-DV movie that, in its stripped-down low-budget way, gets deeper into the fascination - the mental horror - of cults than Martha Marcy May Marlene did.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 25, 2012
Stuffed full of ideas and twists and turns, it also plays a little thin and fragile, more like a haiku than a novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 24, 2012
For those who aren't burdened by such things, the loopy, off-kilter pace and frontal-lobe frying provide their own unconventional pleasures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 24, 2012
The bland, jittery visual "realism" can't counteract overheated performances of tin-eared dialogue, which strain for pulp but often land at soap.
April 24, 2012
"Sound of My Voice" may seem like an extended episode of "The Twilight Zone," but within its clever structure it digs into the notions of identity, loyalty and the need to belong.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 23, 2012
An object lesson in how much can be achieved on modest means with a smart combo of craft and story.
April 23, 2012
Batmanglij keeps the movie even-keeled, full of medium close-ups, underscored by ambient plinks and shimmers, with nothing to break the trance until a last scene that upends everything we thought we knew.
February 8, 2011
A couple infiltrates a secretive cult in this tense, very low-budget thriller with science fiction overtones.