Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Spartacus: Blood and Sand - The Complete First Season Reviews

Page 1 of 1
June 30, 2012
CGI shit of fake tits and pathos. Great story badly acted and even worse cast. I doubt women in BC ages looked like the Playboy bunnies, and sounded like soap opera hags... Not that much of real sand, but fake CGI blood splashes around like cum in a gay porn. One gets to appreciate the HBO even more... The only good thing about it is that they try to make something adult and real, even though they do fail so miserably...
½ June 1, 2012
Bullshit, nothing more to say...
½ February 20, 2012
Cheesy and dumb. This has been done before, and done better. I couldn't stand more than 10 minutes of it.
July 10, 2011
Great Great Great series!
½ April 12, 2011
First couple episodes are ok, once storyline picks up its really a great show! 300/Gladiator-esque. Netflix instant.
December 1, 2010
If you love 300, you'll love this movie.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
½ October 21, 2010
Pure Trash it amazes me whay a child or teenager can see on TV or a DVD today, and we wonder why teens are having children, it don't take no goverment study. This series is complete trash No Stars would be better
½ October 19, 2010
This one has the indomitable spirit of the gladiator combined with the violence of 300. Go back in time where gladiators battles in the grand arena, I was totally immersed in the combats and the glory of ancient Rome. Here, it is all about the gladiator training, way of life, and the bloody battles. It is extraordinarily violent and gory. There is a slow start to the character development for the series, but one 's patience will definitely be rewarded as the story progresses. Spartacus is a man who has lost everything and is trying to gain it back through fighting in the arenas. Lead actor Andy Whitfield was recently diagnosed with non-Hodgkins Lymphoma and sadly had bowed out of Season 2. It will take time to warm up to whomever they choose to replace him, I cannot see another actor in Andy's role as he embodies the role and character of Spartacus. Recommended only for viewers who are comfortable with violence, gore and nudity.
½ October 19, 2010
This one has the indomitable spirit of the gladiator combined with the violence of 300. Go back in time where gladiators battles in the grand arena, I was totally immersed in the combats and the glory of ancient Rome. Here, it is all about the gladiator training, way of life, and the bloody battles. It is extraordinarily violent and gory. There is a slow start to the character development for the series, but one 's patience will definitely be rewarded as the story progresses. Spartacus is a man who has lost everything and is trying to gain it back through fighting in the arenas. Lead actor Andy Whitfield was recently diagnosed with non-Hodgkins Lymphoma and sadly had bowed out of Season 2. It will take time to warm up to whomever they choose to replace him, I cannot see another actor in Andy's role as he embodies the role and character of Spartacus. Recommended only for viewers who are comfortable with violence, gore and nudity.
September 29, 2010
Contains everything I could want from a tv series; romance, a bit of history, great costumes, death, love, blood, violence, sex, nudity, inventive use of cursewords and beautiful people.
I will never stop having daydreams about Craig Parker. Never.
August 16, 2010
Excellent series. Very violent and graphic, but it does justice to the subject matter.
August 16, 2010
The best series I've ever seen!
August 10, 2010
So far the first episode should be called "Blood and Sex" but I'll keep you posted.
August 8, 2010
A man must accept his fate or be destroyed by it

Spartacus is a Trojan out on a stroll when he encounters a Roman legion and is captured and sold into slavery. As a slave, he is trained to fight in the arena, and if he wins, he is awarded money and women. He hopes to save his money, buy his freedom, and return to his family.

?Suck the cock of my good fortune.?

Michael Hurst (Hercules and Xena), Rick Jacobson (La Femme Nikita and Xena), and Jesse Warn (Her Iliad), collaborate to deliver Spartacus: Blood and Sand. The storyline for this series starts slow but develops wonderfully. The action scenes are outstanding, the script is hilarious, and the ultimate resolve is triumphant. The acting is better than average and includes Andy Whitfield, John Hannah, Lucy Lawless, and Peter Mensah.

?Was your dog always on its leash even when it was licking my ass??

When I saw the previews for this series on Showtime, it seemed like a cross between 300 and Gladiator. This series was exactly what I thought mixed with soft porn. The series takes a little while to get into; but once it gets ramped up, there is enough subplots and side stories to keep you entertained as Spartacus?s character evolves. I recommend seeing this series.

?May the gods shrink your cock.?

Grade: A-
½ August 4, 2010
done with SPARTACUS season 1!

and yes its COOL and AWESOME!

>>its like 300 meets Gladiator

love the gory scenes and the passionate sex in almost all episodes! hehe!

need more? well, other than "Apologies," instead of "I'm sorry." "Gratitude" instead of "Thank you" and so on, wait until the character starts raving in very contemporary English, especially with the use of the "F" and "C" words which sort of works for me!
July 30, 2010
So far, and mind you, I am only on episode 4, Spartacus is a very irritating character. I hope he gets his act together. he makes many foolish decisions without thinking anything through first. But the show is engaging and interesting
Page 1 of 1